German Studies

O’Neill Reference AE27 .B922 1986. The largest German language printed encyclopedia, its first edition came out in 1796-1808. In Feb. 2008, the publishers announced that the next edition would be in electronic form only.

O’Neill Stacks DD14 .M64 1998. Includes articles on personalities, events, and institutions, as well as literature, music, art, religion, science, philosophy, economics, technology, society, and the media. Each entry has a short bibliography.

O'Neill Reference PT41 .G3. An excellent single volume reference for information about writers and literary movements. Includes summaries of many literary works. The entries are alphabetically arranged.

O’Neill Stacks PT41 .G73 2011. Covers a wide swath of literary analysis and achievement, from Old High German lays and ecclesiastical encomia to Middle High German epics, sagas, and love lyrics. Includes a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, a comprehensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on poetry, novels, historical narrative, philosophical musings, and drama.

O'Neill Stacks PT155 .A87x. Provides biobibliographical sketches of more than 1,000 German writers from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland.

O'Neill Reference Z2230 .K86 1968. Focuses on authors and anonymous works and provides extensive bibliographies. In progress.

O'Neill Stacks PT41 .R3. Focuses on periods and types of German literature but not on individual authors. Many of the signed articles have extensive bibliographies.

O'Neill Reference PT41 .R43 1997. Follows the organizational focus of the previous edition. In progress.