Skip to main content

English Portal


Getting Started with Research in English

Key Resources

English Department Library Newsletter

Here is the latest issue of the English Department Library Newsletter.

Database Highlights

Literature Criticism Online

This large online collection of literary criticism provides a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search and browse options are provided.


Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape


Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this beautifully illustrated digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.


Oxford Bibliographies Online: Victorian Literature

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Victorian Literature is a tool designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to chapter, book, website, archive, or data set selected by experts in the subject. It features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. Each topic included within this guide has a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. The citations link out to the sources via the library collection or through Google books and more.

Subject Guide

Brendan Rapple
Room 414
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482



Use this forms questions or comments about the BC Libraries or the website. If you have a research question you can also email or chat with a librarian.

All fields are optional.