This is the "Getting Started" page of the "African American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

African American Literature   Tags: african-american_authors, black_authors, black_literature, literature  

This Guide is intended to help identify resources for both basic and advanced research in African American literature.
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/aframlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

This Guide is intended to help identify online resources for both basic and advanced research in African American literature.

Remember: it is always advisable to consult our online catalog Holmes, the BC Libraries Online Discovery Tool, and the Online Databases page to locate appropriate resources.

If you have any questions or comments, please contact the Subject Specialist for English, Brendan Rapple (617-552-4482; rappleb@bc.edu).

 

First Steps

If one is beginning to research a topic pertaining to African American literature about which one knows relatively little, the database Literature Resource Center might be particularly useful. Literature Resource Center provides up-to-date criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists on over 135,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The database contains more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines. African American authors and relevant topics are well represented.

Literature Resource Center
includes the following databases:

  • Contemporary Authors
    A bio-bibliographical guide to more than 120,000 current U.S. and international authors in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, and other fields.

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
    An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study.

In addition to almost 300,000 full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, Literature Resource Center provides full-text access to Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and points to over 5,000 evaluated author-related Web sites.


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brendan Rapple
Contact Info
Room 414A
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, English
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip