Photographs are wonderful primary sources that can tell you a lot about a certain topic or time period. When using a photograph for research, think about what is shown in the photograph as well as what is not. Why was this important enough to photograph? What biases does the photographer have? If the photograph is undated: What can you infer about the time period based on the details in the photo? Check out more from The Family Photo Detective.
While some photos have been digitized and are available online, the majority have not. You can request to see any of these collections in person in the Reading Room.
The finding aids for these collections can be found under the "Links" section at the bottom of their catalog records, or by clicking the links below.
Boston College alumni photographs, 1885-2012.
This collection consists of photographs of alumni, both as individuals and at class and group events.
Finding Aid for BC alumni photographs collection
Boston College athletic photographs, 1889-2013.
This collection is arranged in three series: coaches and staff; group photographs; and individual athletes.
Select digitized images
Finding Aid for BC athletics photographs collection
Boston College building and campus images, 1880-2012.
This collection includes exterior and interior views of individual buildings; views of multiple buildings and campus in general; and aerial views of campus.
Select digitized images
Finding Aid for BC building and campus photographs
Boston College commencement materials, 1877-2014.
This collection consists of individual and group photographs of graduates and attendees of BC Commencement ceremonies, as well as program materials.
Select digitized images
Finding Aid for BC commencement material
Boston College faculty and staff photographs, 1872-2012.
This collection consists of photographs of BC faculty members and staff. Faculty photographs contain images of both Jesuit and lay faculty members.
Select digitized images
Finding Aid for BC faculty and staff photographs
Boston College special guests and events photographs, 1900-2006.
This collection consists of photographs of special guests at BC, including commencement speakers, honorary degree holders, guest lecturers, and other visiting dignitaries. Special events depicted herein include commencements, speeches, Masses, plays, interviews, dedications, rallies, and others.
Select digitized images
Finding Aid for BC special guests and events photographs
Newton College of the Sacred Heart Records
This collection consists of photographs, slides, and albums documenting: activities and student life (such as classroom activities, dorm and resident life, sports teams and events, student outings, and yearly gatherings); campus buildings and their construction; special occasions like balls, commencements, dedications, dinners, honors and awards, the father-daughter weekend, junior weekend, and masses; students, faculty, religious figures like Cardinal Agagianian and Cardinal Cushing; local groups and organizations, visitors; and yearbook photographs.
Finding Aid for Newton College of the Sacred Heart Records
Maurice Dullea, ca. 1920
Alumni Hall exterior with view of Gasson in background
Maya Angelou
