Irish Literature and Language (Irish Studies)

Literary Texts Online

A multi-page research guide to Irish literature resources in the Boston College libraries

A Companion to Irish Literature by Julia M. Wright (Editor)
Call Number: Blackwell reference online ; O'Neill
Publication Date: 2012
Featuring new essays by international literary scholars, the two-volume Companion to Irish Literature encompasses the full breadth of Ireland's literary tradition from the Middle Ages to the present day. Covers an unprecedented historical range of Irish literature Arranged in two volumes covering Irish literature from the medieval period to 1900, and its development through the twentieth century to the present day Presents a re-visioning of twentieth-century Irish literature and a collection of the most up-to-date scholarship in the field as a whole Includes a substantial number of women writers from the eighteenth century to the present day Includes essays on leading contemporary authors, including Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, Eavan Boland, Roddy Doyle, and Emma Donoghue Introduces readers to the wide range of current approaches to studying Irish literature

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 C.E. Contains texts from important authors such as St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, Peter Abelard.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
A database of primary documents that includes the diaries and letters of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Access writings by full text searching (simple or advanced) or by exploring the tables of contents.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content. At present, there are two collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication and are cross-searchable.

CELT corpus of electronic texts : the online resource for Irish history, literature and politics
CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts, in UCC's History Department, is a web-based corpus of the primary sources of History and Irish Studies in Irish, English, Latin, and French. CELT is freely available and growing. This page of CELT lists bibliographies and links out to others.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of key 15th through 17th century printed texts.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.
Samuel Beckett Digital Manuscript Project This link opens in a new window
The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett's works in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works. The work on this project proceeds in a modular way. Once the electronic genetic edition of a work is completed, the accompanying analysis of the work's genesis is published in print with a selection of facsimile images

Contemporary Writers (British Council)
Contains up-to-date profiles of some of the UK, Commonwealth, and Republic of Ireland's most important living writers. Included are biographies, bibliographies, critical reviews, prize information and photographs. Profiles are searchable by author, genre, nationality, publisher and book title.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides about 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers) from every age and literary discipline.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Provides comprehensive coverage of literature from the Abbey Theatre to Israel Zangwill, covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin).
Something about the Author
Includes personal data, addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, sidelights (essay on the author's life and works), adaptations, additional sources and more. Also includes autobiography essays from Something About the Author Autobiography Series.

Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women's writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.