Irish Literature and Language (Irish Studies)

Literary excerpts dating from Early and Middle Irish literature (ca.600-1600) to contemporary Irish writing (up to 1988). The overall theme is the cultural struggle against colonization. Defines literature broadly to include speeches and songs, in addition to more familiar content. Content is drawn from pieces written 'by the Irish and the Anglo Irish, in English, Latin, French and Gaelic.'

11 years in the making, featuring the work of over 700 individual writers and harnessing the skills and expertise of dozens of scholars, The Field Day Anthology of Irish Writing Volumes IV and V is without doubt one the most important publishing events in Ireland for many years. The most comprehensive corpus of Irish women's writing ever published. A lifelong resource, each encounter prompting fresh insights and new discoveries Features the work of over nine hundred familiar and undiscovered or unappreciated writers. Many of the sources are previously unpublished. Harnesses the skills and expertise of dozens of scholars and specialists. Interdisciplinary approach allows insight into areas of the Irish experience beyond the reader's area of interest. Biographies and bibliographies of writers facilitate further reading and research. Fully indexed and cross-referenced with earlier volumes, including index to first lines of poetry. Spans a period from 600 to the end of the end of the Twentieth Century. Many Irish texts appear in translation for the first time allowing unprecedented access to rare texts.

This anthology, revised and greatly expanded since the groundbreaking first edition, features poetry by sixteen of Ireland's finest poets: Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, Eavan Boland, Eva Bourke, Medbh McGuckian, Kerry Hardie, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Mary O'Malley, Rita Ann Higgins, Paula Meehan, Moya Cannon, Katie Donovan, Vona Groarke, Enda Wyley, Sinéad Morrissey, Caitríona O'Reilly, and Leontia Flynn.

Excerpts of literature by women and men that describe women from Queen Maeve to Mary Robinson. The excerpts are drawn from myths, poems, letters, newspapers, novels, plays, and songs. Organized by topic: bodies, "girly years," love, marriage and family, money and power, shapechangers, heroism, religion, women alone, talk, and time.

The volumes collected in this anthology reflect the women's intellectual contribution to nineteenth century culture in both an Irish and British context. Some of the works reflect typically Irish concerns, such as religion and the colonial relationship, while others address universal concerns. Together, they give insight into Irish social, political and religious life. Each of the volumes has a new introduction placing the work in the appropriate social and historical context.

Prose and poetry concerning Irish history, extracted from literature, historical documents, and letters.

The years between 1780 and 1830 are vital decades in the history of Irish writing in English. This book charts the confluence of Enlightenment, antiquarian, and romantic energies within Irish literary culture and shows how different writers and genres absorbed, dispersed and remade those interests during five decades of political change. During those same years, literature made its own history. By the 1840s, Irish writing formed a recognizable body of work, which later generations would draw on, quote, anthologize and dispute. Questions raised by novels, poems and plays of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries - the politics of language and voice; the relationship between literature and locality; the possibility of literature as a profession - resonated for many Irish writers over the centuries that followed and continue to matter today. This comprehensive volume will be a key reference for scholars and students of Irish literature and romantic literary studies.

Irish Literature Eighteenth Century illustrates not only the impressive achievement of the great writers-Swift, Berkeley, Burke, Goldsmith and Sheridan-but also shows the varied accomplishment of others, providing unexpected, entertaining examples from the pens of the less well known. Here are examples of the witty comic dramas so successfully written by Susannah Centlivre, Congreve, Steele, Farquhar and Macklin. There are serious and humorous essayists represented, including Steele, Lord Orrery, Thomas Sheridan and Richard Lovell Edgeworth. Beginning with Gulliver's Travels, fiction includes John Amory's strange imaginings, Sterne's stream of consciousness, Frances Sheridan's insights, Henry Brooke's sentimentalities and Goldsmith's charm. Poetry ranges from the classical to the innovative. Graceful lyrics, anonymous jeux d'esprit, descriptive pieces, savage satires and personal poems are written by very different poets, among them learned witty women, clergymen and drunken ne'er-do-wells. Politicians, notably Grattan and Curran, produced eloquent speeches; effective essays and pamphlets accompanied political activity. Personal letters and diaries-such as the exuberant Dorothea Herbert's Recollections-convey the changing ethos of this century's literature, based on the classics and moving to an increasing interest in the translation of Irish literature. This book conveys its fascinating liveliness and rich variety.

Since the very successful four-volume Cabinet of Irish Literature, published in 1912 and long out of print, there has been no publication which demonstrates the growth, variety and achievement of Irish writing in the nineteenth century. There are no anthologies available which are suitable for students, senior school children, and general readers. The proposed volume remedies this situation. Taking in prose, poetry, and drama, this volume not only contains work by major authors but also includes less obvious material gleaned from sources such as letters, diaries, court reports, newspapers, and journals. This accessible anthology, introduced and annotated by two leading scholars of Irish literature, is destined to become standard reading for a generation of students and general readers. This, the first of three volumes, spans the first third of the nineteenth century. It documents Ireland's significant literary contribution to an age of invention, with Thomas Moore's romantic Melodies, Maria Edgeworth's regional fiction, and Charles Maturin's voyeuristic Gothic stories. It witnesses the rise of a quest for authenticity-mapping and transmuting the Gaelic past (in Hardiman's Irish Minstrelsy, Petrie's essay on the round towers, and O'Curry's research into Irish manuscripts) and faithfully depicting the real Ireland (in the first-hand accounts of Mary Leadbeater, William Hamilton Maxwell, Asenath Nicholson, the peasant fiction of William Carleton, and the Catholic fiction of the Banim brothers). In Jonah Barrington's Sketches, it records the demise of the rollicking squirearchy, while in the stories of Lover, it portrays the rise of the stage Irishman. But it also offers a selection from political documents and speeches, and from popular writings which were imprinted on the Irish consciousness. These are contextualised by historical documents, and by Irish forays into European Romanticism.

"Extending to over 1300 pages Irish Writing in the Twentieth Century: A Reader offers a comprehensive and pleasurable introduction to modern Irish literature in a single volume. The Reader contains over 400 pieces including letters, diaries, newspaper and journal articles, songs, poems, critical essays, literary profiles, entire plays and short stories as well as extracts from novels and other longer works. Texts which until now have been out of print or difficult to locate are made easily accessible once more." "Arranged chronologically by decade, from the 1890s to the 1990s, each decade is divided into two different types of writing: critical/documentary and imaginative writing, and is accompanied by a headnote which situates it thematically and chronologically. The Reader is also structured for thematic study by listing all the pieces included under a series of topic headings. The wide range of material encompasses writings of well-known figures in the Irish canon and neglected writers alike. This will appeal to the general reader, but also makes Irish Writing in the Twentieth Century ideal as a core text, providing a unique focus for detailed study in a single volume."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Collected here is a comprehensive representation of Irish poetic achievement in the 20th and 21st centuries, from poets such as Austin Clarke and Samuel Beckett who were writing while Yeats and Joyce were still living; to those who came of age in the turbulent '60s as sectarian violence escalated.

This is the first major anthology of Irish American poetry. It breaks new ground in the field of Irish American literary scholarship by collecting for the first time the work of over two hundred Irish American poets, as well as other American poets whose work enjoins Irish American themes. What does it mean to be an Irish American poet? The Book of Irish American Poetry answers this question by drawing together the best and most representative poetry by Irish Americans and about Irish America that has been written over the past three hundred years. The question is not merely rhetorical, claims Daniel Tobin in the introduction, for it raises the issue of a certain kind of imaginative identity that has rarely, if ever, been adequately explored. This anthology brings together exemplary poetry of the "populist period"of Irish American verse (in particular the work of poets such as John Boyle O'Reilly), with the work of those Irish Americans who have made an indelible imprint on American poetry: Robinson Jeffers, Marianne Moore, Louise Bogan, John Berryman, Thomas McGrath, John Montague, Robert Creeley, Frank O'Hara, Ted Berrigan, Charles Olson, Galway Kinnell, X. J. Kennedy, and Alan Dugan, among others. Finally, the anthology includes distinctive poems by contemporary Irish Americans whose work is most likely to stand the test of time: poets such as Tess Gallagher, Alice Fulton, Brendan Galvin, Marie Howe, Susan Howe, Billy Collins, Michael Ryan, Richard Kenney, and Brigit Pegeen Kelly. The poems in this collection cut across the broad spectrum of American poetry and place Irish Americans within every notable school of American poetry, from modernism to confessionalism and the Beats, from formalism to imagism, and from projectivism to the New York School and Language poets. The Book of Irish American Poetry recovers many poets who have been forgotten and places already notable figures in American poetry within the context of a distinctively Irish American tradition. This important work of literary scholarship will dominate the field for years to come.

Irish writers living outside of Ireland focus on issues of Irish identity, in short fiction and excerpts from longer prose works.

Reactions to Belfast dating from the early 1600s to the present culled from memoirs, poetry, fiction, travel writing, and letters.