Irish Literature and Language (Irish Studies)

Gives information on Irish novelists, playwrights, poets, and short storyists. Part one covers writers in English, and part two covers writers in Irish and Latin.

Includes nineteenth century women who were born in Ireland (and did not emigrate from the British Isles) and wrote in English. Does not provide literary or historical context, or any critical analysis. Sets out to disprove three myths about Irish women's poetry of the nineteenth century: that "little was written, it was unpopular, and it was isolated."

A collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy this database contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles in fields such as politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

Irish women writers have a large following, and their works are attracting large amounts of scholarly and critical attention. Through roughly 75 alphabetically arranged entries written by more than 35 expert contributors, this reference overviews the lives and works of Irish women writers active in a range of genres and periods. Each entry includes a brief biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and a list of works by and about the author. The volume closes with a selected, general bibliography.

The 20th century has produced some of the most important and influential figures in Irish literature, some of whom are counted among the world's greatest authors. Among these include: William Butler Yeats and Lady Gregory, who drew heavily on the myths and legends of the past, as well as James Joyce, who boldly reshaped the novel and wrote short fiction of enduring value. Other contemporary Irish writers continue to be leading figures and include such authors as Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, and Eavan Boland. This book contains a multitude of other significant and compelling authors of the 20th century.

This second edition of the Dictionary of Irish Literature is a revised, updated, and considerable expansion of the original volume. Included are more than twice as many entries as in the first edition, with many devoted to new writers who have appeared and developed in the Irish publishing explosion of the last 15 years. A substantial number of entries also discuss earlier authors who were omitted from the first edition. Introductory material discusses the principal themes of Irish writing, the history of Irish writing in English, and literature written in the Irish language. Though Ireland is a small island with some five million inhabitants, it has produced one of the most remarkable bodies of literature in the world.

Most Irish fiction published between 1650 and 1900 has fallen into virtual oblivion. Research by the Loebers for their Guide to Irish fiction has led to the identification of hundreds of unknown or forgotten Irish authors and their works, and provides thousands of summaries of novels and anthologies. Carefully documented, A guide to Irish fiction presents details of the publication of Irish fiction in Ireland, England, and North America, as well as several other European countries. Written for literary scholars and students, this book constitutes an essential tool for historians, librarians and antiquarian booksellers.

Offers concise and current information on Irish literature in three categories: significant writers, from the 7th century to contemporary poets and novelists; major literary works of quality and influence; and places and institutions that have helped shape Irleand's literary heritage.

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.

This book is from the collection commenced by Thomas J. Clarke Irish Republican Leader b. 1857, executed in 1916. The collection was continued by his wife Kathleen Clarke T.D. 1879-1972 and by their son Emmet C. Clarke aged 91 in 2002. Emphasis is on poets who wrote in English. O'Donoghue defines poets broadly to include songwriters, as long as their works had been previously published. Entries for each author include biographical information and a brief bibliography.

The dictionary has entries on 560 writers, including 220 in Irish. Each entry contains a bibliographical note, a list of key references, and a bibliography where applicable. O'Toole advances literary and cultural - as distinct from primarily historical - research on the region of Munster over the last two centuries enables a new view, as a whole, of the work of women writers juxtaposes the work of Irish, English-language, and bilingual writers, and thereby helps to develop an understanding of the province of Munster as a diverse cultural milieu, and focus on the role of regionality in the process of cultural creation.

In over 2,000 entries, the Companionto Irish Literature surveys the Irish literary landscape across some sixteen centuries, describing its features and landmarks.Entries range from ogam writing, developed in the 4th century, to the fiction, poetry, and drama of the l990s; and from Cu Chulainn to James Joyce. There are accounts of authors as early as Adomnan, 7th century Abbot of Iona, up to contemporary writers such as Roddy Doyle, Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, and Edna O'Brien.

Entries are in Irish.
Includes biographies of Irish-language writers from the late nineteenth to the late twentieth century.

Text in English.
Gives information on Irish novelists, playwrights, poets, and short story writers. Part one covers writers in English, and part two covers writers in Irish and Latin.

Essay and entries are in Irish.
Begins with a lengthy essay on writing in Irish between 1945 and 1995, followed by biographies of authors.

Entries in Irish.
A directory, in Irish, of Irish language literary authors, with contact information and very brief outlines of literary careers. The entries contain little or no biographical information.