History Faculty

DanteSources is a Digital Library, which allows users to retrieving information about Dante primary sources, such as the works of other authors that Dante cites in his texts through digital visualization in the form of tables and charts. Winner of the 2015 DH Awards Best DH Tool or Suite of Tools. In Italian and English.

Digital research and pedagogical initiative in the Center for Science and Society at Columbia University that explores the intersections between artistic making and scientific knowing. From 2014 through 2019, the Project’s focus is the creation of a digital critical edition of an intriguing anonymous sixteenth-century French artisanal and technical manuscript, BnF Ms. Fr. 640. Through the Project’s transcription, English translation, and encoding of the text, the edition presentz the text of Fr. 640 in a searchable digital format in both French and English translation for the first time.

Links disparate datasets from Europe and North America to provide an international view of the history and provenance of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. Researchers can analyze and visualize the aggregated data at scales ranging from individual manuscripts to thousands of manuscripts.

Out of Princeton, "designed for teachers, students, and members of the broader public who want to learn about Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages (c. 300-1500 C.E.), this website provides resources for both teaching and research."

A rich text interactive edition of Petrarch's Songbook.

Online research and editing project documenting theological disputes following the Augsburg Interim from 1548 and the Leipzig Interim. Over 2000 records.

International digital research project registering and editing medieval glass paintings in Germany, developed at workplaces in Freiburg and Potsdam (Germany).

Database based at the University of Oxford, using a variety of digital research methods to reassemble and understand early modern correspondence networks.

Online database allowing users to search medieval saints by name, dedication, and mapped data. Platform can also be downloaded.

Digital mapping and archiving project at UChicago focusing on visualization of Florence through maps.

This project researches opportunities for knowledge of the past on the Internet, how historical knowledge is represented and generated, and by whom, and how socializing takes place in the digital media.

Database including images, charts, and texts showing the parallel development of Gothic Architecture and the formation of France in the 12-13th centuries, considered in 3D.

Database of literary controversies in the Italian Cinquecento. The PoLet500 archive links data by quality of intertextual components: reference to the same topic or the same character, sharing of bibliographic entries, and reference history.

Digital humanities initiative between scholars, students, and architects researching methods of digitally visualizing Venice through documents, maps, and images.

A curriculum designed for teachers using the stories of artists, students, and everyday individuals to teach about how a nation peacefully transitioned from 41 years of Communist rule to democracy in 1989.

Here you will find one of the greatest historical atlases: Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, first published in 1932. This digital edition reproduces all of the atlas's nearly 700 maps. Many of these beautiful maps are enhanced here in ways impossible in print, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data—remarkable maps produced eight decades ago with the functionality of the twenty-first century.

Explore more than 100,000 records of books, readers, and borrowing history from the New York Society Library's Special Collections. Includes sections on women readers and the founding fathers.

Features hundreds of primary sources from the long conventions movement. Primary sources include minutes, proceedings, newspaper articles, speeches, letters, transcripts, and images.

Is the Colored Conventions Project's (CCP) digital records. This site features the hundreds of collected documents of the Colored Conventions movement, spanning from the 1830s through the 1890s.

Explore literary treasures from the Romantic and Victorian periods. Includes 1,400 collection items, 171 articles, 25 films, 36 teachers’ notes and more.

The largest historical dictionary of English slang. Written by Jonathon Green over 17 years from 1993, it reached the printed page in 2010 in a three-volume set containing nearly 100,000 entries supported by over 400,000 citations from c. ad 1000 to the present day. The main focus of the dictionary is the coverage of over 500 years of slang from c. 1500 onwards.

Explore historical maps, discover stories you never knew, find people and historical events related to the Mall's past.

Present the Homeric Iliad and Odyssey in a critical framework that accounts for the fact that these poems were composed orally over the course of hundreds, if not thousands of years by countless singers who composed in performance. The evolution and the resulting multiformity of the textual tradition, reflected in the many surviving texts of Homer, must be understood in its many different historical contexts.

Is interactive timeline that spans across 14 billion years of history, from the Big Bang to 2015.
The site draws historical events from Wikipedia and self-updates daily with new recorded events.
The interface allows for users to view between decades to millions of years.

Is a network of nearly 30,000 individuals — many of them iconic figures in British culture — connected through family relationships of blood, marriage, or affiliation. It is a vision of the nation’s history as a giant family affair.

HOLC's documents contain a wealth of information about how government officials, lenders, and real estate interests surveyed and ensured the economic health of American cities. Includes extensive maps from across the U.S. along with other material.

Mapping Occupation, by Gregory P. Downs and Scott Nesbit, captures the regions where the United States Army could effectively act as an occupying force in the Reconstruction South. For the first time, it presents the basic nuts-and-bolts facts about the Army's presence, movements that are central to understanding the occupation of the South. That data in turn reorients our understanding of the Reconstruction that followed Confederate surrender. Viewers can use these maps as a guide through a complex period, a massive data source, and a first step in capturing the federal government's new reach into the countryside.

Focused on an interpretation of Hans Sloane's 1707 Voyage to the Islands of Madera, Barbados, Nieves, S. Christophers and Jamaica.

Explore a Google Map interface, limiting by date ranges, and then link out to appropriate digitized historical maps from the various partner collections (including the British Library, the New York Public Library, and others).

Is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).

This website offers a portal into the Peoria, Illinois world of Richard Pryor’s first twenty years — a passageway into the material he reshaped in his comedy. There are over 200 documents to explore here, and many stories to explore through them.

Is a digital reconstruction of the early modern social network that scholars and students from all over the world can collaboratively expand, revise, curate, and critique. Unlike published prose, Six Degrees is extensible, collaborative, and interoperable: extensible in that people and associations can always be added, modified, developed, or, removed; collaborative in that it synthesizes the work of many scholars; interoperable in that new work on the network is put into immediate relation to previously studied relationships.

This animated thematic map narrates the spatial history of the greatest slave insurrection in the eighteenth century British Empire. To teachers and researchers, the presentation offers a carefully curated archive of key documentary evidence. To all viewers, the map suggests an argument about the strategies of the rebels and the tactics of counterinsurgency, about the importance of the landscape to the course of the uprising, and about the difficulty of representing such events cartographically with available sources.

This free website is currently down (Dec 2023). These images were selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. The growing collection currently has over 1,200 images. Includes facsimiles of illustrations, paintings, maps, architecture/technology, as well as some 3D site images.

This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of mostly unnamed Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action. [Emory Libraries]

Small Town Noir is dedicated to recovering the life stories behind mug shots from the vanished golden age of one American town.

This website displays research into the lives of 431 enslaved people in seven multi-generational families at Mesopotamia plantation in Jamaica and Mount Airy plantation in Virginia.

The digitized t-shirt collections of numerous lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender archives across the United States.

"What Middletown Read" is a database and search engine built upon the circulation records of the Muncie (Indiana) Public Library from November 5, 1891 through December 3, 1902. It documents every book that every library patron borrowed during that period, with the exception of one gap from May 28, 1892 to November 5, 1894.

The digital Wunderkammer (literally, “wonder cabinet,” or cabinet of curiosities) put together by the Hagströmer Medico-Historical Library in Stockholm allows you to search its archives of medical art by scientific area, year of publication, artistic technique, and the emotion that the image is likely to provoke.