English Literature

A bibliography of all aspects of the European Middle Ages including theology and philosophy.

Five full-text searchable family letter collections with manuscript images, plus visual sources, family trees, and an interactive map

This database provides direct access to a wide collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. These sources tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature and science. The project combines: a) Multiple manuscript sources detailing the journeys of famous travelers from Prester John and Marco Polo to Sir John Mandeville and John Capgrave; b)Translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); c) Maps showing the routes of the travelers; d) Introductory essays by leading scholars.

An interactive workspace designed to support use and study of digitized rare medieval and renaissance manuscripts of the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

Digital versions of key 15th through 17th century printed texts.

This collection of primary sources looks at two centuries of everyday, political, religious, working, trading and administrative life in England during this pivotal epoch. Documents cover an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of everyday people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, politics and relations with Englands neighbors.

The goal of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors whose writing exists only in manuscript form. The more than two hundred and thirty manuscripts in the site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

From architectural plans to costume designs, prompt books and programs, this digitized archive of Shakespeare's Globe offers researchers a comprehensive insight into performance practice in this unique theater space.Includes over 200 productions from 1997-2016.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction contains 96 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1700 to 1780.

Full text of significant English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Correspondence between some of the greatest thinkers and writers of the 18th century and their families, friends, bankers, booksellers, and publishers.

Full text of prominent 18th century ( c.1685 and 1835) newspapers and periodicals focused on England and Ireland with additional content from India, Canada and the West Indies. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Eighteenth Century Women Playwrights is a digital version of a 6-volume collection edited by Derek Hughes and published by Pickering & Chatto in 2001. It includes transcriptions of first editions of 25 plays written by the eighteenth century's most famous women dramatists, and introductions and notes.

C-19 is a one-stop 19th C. finding tool containing multiple resources, including the 19th Century Short Title Catalog (NSTC), The Nineteenth Century (comprehensive information about the 19th C. book trade), Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Periodicals Index Online, British Periodicals collections I and II, American Periodicals Series, the Index to Niles' Register 1811-1849, House of Commons Parliamentary papers, Congressional Serial Set & American State Papers, the Proceedings of the Old Bailey, and the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, and more.

This digital edition incorporates the complete text of the four-volume print edition, The Letters of Christina Rossetti, edited by Antony H. Harrison. All 2124 letters are full-text searchable and indexed.

Includes nearly 4,000 letters -- comprehensive and well annotated.

Includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from the "long nineteenth century".

This unique resources contains the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.

The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals: 1800-1900 (Series 2) provides access to information about thousands of newspapers and periodicals published in England between January 1, 1800 and December 31, 1900. The database consolidates information from many thousands of secondary sources, including scholarly resources for press historians and innumerable reference works on the history of Great Britain. Additionally, the Directory includes digital images of title pages for numerous Victorian periodicals.

This database indexes over 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. It covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. One may search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type.

The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett's works in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works. The work on this project proceeds in a modular way. Once the electronic genetic edition of a work is completed, the accompanying analysis of the work's genesis is published in print with a selection of facsimile images

This indexes more than 117,000 stories, as far back as 1984 published in more than 4,200 collections and anthologies, including stories that appear in periodicals.

This resource offers a complete facsimile edition of the Times Literary Supplement, from 1902 through 2014. Searchable by author and/or contributor, title, subject, date, etc., it contains more than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues, all available here in the context in which they were originally published. For the first time, identities of previously anonymous contributors -- reviewers, essayists, and writers of letters and poems -- are disclosed. Wherever possible, a contributor's biographical information is included, allowing scholars to get a better understanding of the reviewers.

The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.

Includes the diaries and letters of 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 entries over a span of 300 years.

Full text of hundreds of popular British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.

Caribbean Literature brings together 100,000 pages of poetry and fiction by hundreds of authors. All texts are presented in their original languages. Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country. Among the authors featured are Wilson Harris, Kwane Dawes, Lorna Goodison, Cyryl Dabydeen, Earl Lovelace, Samuel Selvon, Derek Walcott, Corly Verlooghen, Diana Lebacs, Hubert Booi, Maryse Cond, Andr Paradis, Phillipe Thoby-Marcelin, Jos Mart, Julian de Casal, Jos de Diego, and Salom Urea de Henrquez. Along with the novels, short stories, and poems of these artists are a number of reference works, including dictionaries of various Creole languages.

The British Library is experiencing a major technology outage following a cyber-attack affecting their website, online systems and services, and some onsite services. 12/19/2023

The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for items of all types published in Great Britain and its dependencies in any language from the beginnings of print through the 18th century -- as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. The database includes materials ranging from Shakespeare and Greek New Testaments to anonymous ballads, broadsides, songs, advertisements and other ephemera. The ESTC serves as a comprehensive bibliography of the hand-press era and as a census of surviving copies.

1842-2003 (full run). Searchable full text color images. Covers politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, and advertising.

The King James or 'Authorized' edition of the Bible (1611) was the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries, drawing heavily on previous editions and providing the principal influence for many subsequent versions. This fully searchable online version presents the full text (of the He' version) with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.

Literature Online (LION) combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online provides access to hundreds of scholarly, critical editions of British literary works, showcasing their authoritative editorial notes directly alongside the text and enabling advanced search within and between editions. We have full-text access to titles in:

- Early Seventeenth Century Poetry
- Early Seventeenth Century Prose
- Eighteenth Century Poetry
- Greek Comedy
- Greek Tragedy
- Nineteenth Century Poetry
- New Oxford Shakespeare Online
- Renaissance Poetry
- Renaissance Prose
- Restoration Poetry
- Romantics Poetry
- Romantics Prose

Past Masters provides online access to authoritative editions of the works of seminal figures in the history of philosophy, political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics.

From 1841 to 1992 Punch was, arguably, the worlds most celebrated magazine of humor and satire. The database is composed of about 7,900 issues (200,000 pages) from all volumes of Punch between 18411992. It includes almanacks and other special numbers, as well as prefaces, epilogues, indexes and other specially produced material from the bound volumes. Images originally published in full color appear in full color in the archive.

Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women's writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.