English Literature

First-person accounts by over 2000 authors, both famous and obscure, of events in the U.S. Civil War.

Collection of women's diaries and letters covering colonial times to 1950.

Indexes over 153,000 stories published in more than 7,500 collections and anthologies. Search by author, title, theme, subject, literary technique, or source. Coverage: 1984-Present. Updated annually.

Asian American Drama contains more than 250 plays by over 40 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.

This database indexes over 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. It covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. One may search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type.

Theatre in context collection (formerly called North American Theatre Online) contains tens of thousands of records for people, places, theatres, productions, production companies, and more. It also includes more than 40,000 pages of full-text reference works and content from hundreds of top theatre Web resources.

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries.

Digitized early American monograph, pamphlet, and broadside collection. Includes American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 & Library Company of Philadelphia Series I Supplement; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 & Library Company of Philadelphia Series II Supplement.

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and the Black Literature Index.

Caribbean Literature brings together 100,000 pages of poetry and fiction by hundreds of authors. All texts are presented in their original languages. Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country. Among the authors featured are Wilson Harris, Kwane Dawes, Lorna Goodison, Cyryl Dabydeen, Earl Lovelace, Samuel Selvon, Derek Walcott, Corly Verlooghen, Diana Lebacs, Hubert Booi, Maryse Cond, Andr Paradis, Phillipe Thoby-Marcelin, Jos Mart, Julian de Casal, Jos de Diego, and Salom Urea de Henrquez. Along with the novels, short stories, and poems of these artists are a number of reference works, including dictionaries of various Creole languages.

C-19 is a one-stop 19th C. finding tool containing multiple resources, including the 19th Century Short Title Catalog (NSTC), The Nineteenth Century (comprehensive information about the 19th C. book trade), Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Periodicals Index Online, British Periodicals collections I and II, American Periodicals Series, the Index to Niles' Register 1811-1849, House of Commons Parliamentary papers, Congressional Serial Set & American State Papers, the Proceedings of the Old Bailey, and the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, and more.

Includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from the "long nineteenth century".

OAASC database is a comprehensive compendium focusing on the "lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture". The database includes encyclopedias, biographies, primary sources, images and more to support research in African and African Diaspora Studies.

Complete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.

The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals database includes digitized images from American magazines and journals from 1684 - 1912. Detailing American history and culture, these specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and much more.

Full text of popular periodicals published between 1740 and 1940 in the United States, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines. Now updated with labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

This collection documents the efforts of African American activists in their international effort to abolish slavery in the United States. Covering the period 1830-1865, the 15,000-item collection records the full impact of African American efforts to oppose slavery by displaying the writings and publications of the activists themselves.

Over 700 historical newspapers from 23 U.S. states and the District of Columbia. Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation. Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic. Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry.

Americas first fashion magazine, from 1867 to present.

Primary source content and editorial perspectives of eleven African American newspapers in the U.S. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle.

Readers' Guide Retrospective provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers the years 1890 1982.