Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

English Literature

:

Finding Criticism: Articles

Major Literature Databases

Articles submitted to peer-reviewed journals for publication consideration are reviewed by experts in the field covered by the article, recommend to the editor to publish or not to publish. This review process gives both gives articles credibility and provides prestige & the potential for career advancement for authors.

Browse Journals

Choose from a wide array of literature journals and browse article titles by volume and issue.

Bibliography Databases

When you need the most comprehensive list of relevant titles prepared by experts in the field, you need a bibliography.

History Databases

Search these history databases for scholarly articles about the historical period and locale in which your literary work is set.

Popular Periodicals

Use popular magazine articles written contemporaneously to the time you are studying as primary sources related to your subject.

Classics, Philosophy & Religion Databases

Many English and American literary works are either based on or allude to religious or classical texts, and literary criticism has a long association with philosophy.

Interdisciplinary Databases

The study of literature intersects with so many disciplines that you many need to seach broad multidisciplinary databases like JSTOR or FRANCIS, or multidisciplinary databases that target gender or race issues such as GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, or LGBTQ+ Source.

Siegfried Sassoon


Portrait of Sassoon by Glyn Warren Philpot, 1917. Fitzwilliam Museum