Chemistry Portal

Getting Started with Chemistry Research

Starting point for Chemistry research

SciFinderⁿ (SciFinder-n)
SciFinderⁿ (SciFinder-n) serves as the central index for chemical literature since 1907 (and earlier): articles, conference proceedings, patents, dissertations, books, etc. Individual user registration and login are required.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search current and retrospective information from approximately 5,600 of the most prestigious, high impact research science journals in the world. Known for its citation searching capability.

Bibliographic Chemistry Databases and Chemistry Data Sources
Subscribed databases featuring chemical content.
BC Libraries Catalog
Cross-disciplinary searching of hundreds of millions of online and locally-available resources including print books, e-books, journal articles, and digital collections

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
An online catalog which allows you to search across thousands of library catalogs including the collections of the libraries in the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), a group of academic and research libraries. You can visit the Consortium libraries and borrow the materials directly by obtaining a Consortium card at the O'Neill Circulation Desk.

ChemDraw at Boston College
Access or register for chemical drawing software, using your BC email address. Consult the Quick Start Guide (PDF) for installation directions. License funded by BC Chemistry.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Use to find commonly needed chemical data. Besides data, it provides basic constants, units and conversion factors; general health and safety information; and mathematical tables, etc.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Essential resource for finding data and associated literature references for organic and inorganic/organometallic compounds. Search by structure, molecular formula and text-based facts. Learn more about Reaxys content.
Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD) This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Structural Database is the world's primary repository for small molecule crystal structures, providing access to bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic data for organic, organometallic and metallic compounds. 3D structures have been determined using X-ray and neutron diffraction. The database records results of single crystal and powder diffractions studies. The web version (WebCSD) provides access to data; interactive functionality requires installation of the desktop client. For more information contact Nancy Curtis (nancy.curtis.2@bc.edu), Chemistry and Physics Librarian/Boston College Libraries.

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS)
An invaluable resource for locating suitable reagents for chemical reactions. It is text-searchable for reagent name, catalyst or solvent, or bibliographic information. Search by structure or substructure for reagents or reactions. Browse by reagent name or structure. This database which provides access to literature dating from the 1940's is updated several times through the year.
Science of Synthesis
Authoritative, critical reviews of synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for organic and organometallic chemistry.

Organic Reactions This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of important synthetic reactions, published annually since 1942. Each reaction is fully referenced to the primary literature.

Patai's Chemistry of the Functional Groups
Access to volumes published since 1995. A long-established, multi-volume treatise for organic chemistry, with each volume focused on comprehensive coverage of the chemistry, reactivity, applications and more about a particular functional groups. Older volumes are included in Patai’s Chemistry of Functional Groups Backfile 1964 - 1995; see below.
Patai's Chemistry of Functional Groups Backfile 1964 - 1995
Volumes from 1964 - 1994 can be accessed here; more recent volumes are included in Patai’s Chemistry of the Functional Groups (see above).

SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials provides critically-evaluated data in the physical sciences. Subject areas covered include: Molecules & Radicals; Thermodynamics; Crystallography; Semiconductivity; Multiphase Systems; Magnetism; Particles & Nuclei; Advanced Materials; Astro- & Geophysics; and others. SpringerMaterials is the online equivalent of the long-time standard reference, Landolt-Bornstein New Series.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

O'Neill Library 414A

617-552-2414

Subjects: Chemistry, Physics