CHEM3322: Introduction to Inorganic Chemistry

7. Find Related Articles

Citation Searching

In theory, authors cite an item because it is relevant to the topic of their own work. The original and best-known database for citation searching is Web of Science. Although other databases, including SciFinderⁿ, have added this feature, their citation coverage is weak for older articles.

*Web of Science* retrieves far more citations for this older article than *SciFinderⁿ* does
Web of Science	SciFinderⁿ

Tips:

Each library database covers a different range of journals, and citation search results will be limited to that collection of journals
Because there are many ways to incorrectly cite an article, a citation search is never 100% complete
Sometimes authors cite research to discuss problems with methods and/or conclusions
Keep in mind: social factors affect citation counts

Search SciFinderⁿ, PubMed, Web of Science, and Google Scholar for articles citing the article "Alkali-Metal-Mediated Synergistic Effects in Polar Main Group Organometallic Chemistry" by Robertson, Uzelac, and Mulvey in Chemical Reviews. Compare the results. Why do they vary so much between databases?

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) search tool biomedical literature. It includes bibliographic information from the MEDLINE database, as well as from additional life science journals. PubMed also provides access and links to NCBI's integrated suite of molecular biology databases.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching, It covers from 1900 to the present, and is global in scope.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research and provides links to resources at Boston College. To set up these links, go to Settings and enter Boston College in the Library Links area.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

CHEM3322: Introduction to Inorganic Chemistry

7. Find Related Articles

Citation Searching