History of the Pacific

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

Collections of art from famous museums and architecture. Digital facsimiles of photos, videos, manuscripts from across more than a millennium of history are also included. Includes material from Indonesian National Museums and other repositories.

Digitized primary sources from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more!

Collections of art from famous museums and architecture. Digital facsimiles of photos, videos, manuscripts from across more than a millennium of history are also included.

Interface in Dutch or English. Content predominately in Dutch.
These national collections include over 370,000 books, photographs, drawings, maps, and more from the 12th to the 21st centuries. Focuses include documents related to Dutch involvement in the slave trade (particularly to Suriname) and photographs.
Open Access.

Almost 800,000 objects from 134 collections of 92 institutions located across the Netherlands. Topics include History and society; Art and culture; Geography and environment; Communication and media. Includes maps, newspapers, cartoons, photographs, books, film, advertising, and more. Includes archeological finds and contemporary material.

The Rijksmuseum is a Dutch national museum dedicated to arts and history in Amsterdam.

More than 20,000 facsimiles of photographs and slides from the Kern Institute with the University of Leiden. Documents cover multiple periods of South and South East Asian (including India, Indonesia, and Pakistan) history, covering more than 2 millenia of history.

Established in 1960, the institute is directly responsible to the President of Indonesia. Its functions include providing data to other governmental institutes as well as to the public and conducting statistical surveys to publish periodic statistics on the economy, social change and development. Statistics Indonesia also assists data processing divisions in other public offices to support and to promote standard statistical methods.

The World Bank offers World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor and Millennium Development Goals and much more with mapping and graphing tools

More than 11,000 Government documents and reports from 17th to 20th centuries in Indonesian, English, and Dutch through Hathi Trust. A limited amount available full text.

Includes material on the 1955 Bandung Conference and more.

Contains over 14000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. Includes more than 400 maps of Indonesia from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Includes a large online collection hosted in or linked though the library. Particularly strong in Australian history and then Pacific history. Online collections strongest in the Early Modern and Modern eras.

More than 15 books and 170 maps looking at Indonesia in the Spanish Digital Library. Interface in English and documents predominately in Spanish.

Over 95,000 Collection Maps and related images with global coverage from the 13th to the 21st centuries with excellent search capacities. Focuses on 16th–21st century maps of North and and South America, as well as maps of the world, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.

Digital copies of Panji manuscripts from Leiden University Libraries and will ultimately contain all of them, totaling over 260. It will contain manuscripts written on palm leaves and on paper, both old and new, in eight languages: Javanese-Balinese, Javanese, Malay, Balinese, Sasak, Buginese, Acehnese, and Sundanese.

This sub collection is actually a jukebox filled with Indonesian pop music. The original analogue vinyl records have been digitized. Thousands of records are now online available with a single click. They include recordings from the nostalgic Keroncong songs of the Dutch East Indies, like 'Bengawan Solo' sung by Rudi van Dalm, to the old-fashioned folk music modernized by adding electric guitars, keyboards and drums as in the so-called 'Pop Keroncong' sung by Koes Plus.

The University of Michigan database of images from Indonesia includes more than 500 documents predominately from the late 1990s.

The photographs were taken chiefly by scholar Claire Holt (1901-1970) during her visits to Indonesia in 1930-38, 1955-57 and 1969 to visually document the plastic and performing arts for her research.

The biggest part of the image collection consists of photographs. Around 1890 the KITLV started collecting photographs for the purpose of documenting the image of the Dutch East and West Indies in all their facets, such as landscapes, town views, architecture, and life under indigenous and Dutch rule and so forth.

This collection contains digitized images, including photographs and slides, that librarians, scholars, and other subject specialists have deemed important to these fields of study will be added to the collection on an ongoing basis. Photographs from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Texts (includes letters, interviews, gazettes, some government reports) from the 20th century.

More than 4,500 images depicting Indonesia under Dutch control between the 1940s and 1950s. Images focus on daily life, environment, and more.

The biggest part of the image collection consists of photographs. Around 1890 the KITLV started collecting photographs for the purpose of documenting the image of the Dutch East and West Indies in all their facets, such as landscapes, town views, architecture, and life under indigenous and Dutch rule and so forth.

A selection of more than 200 facsimiles of materials belonging to temples and private collections in four cities: Jakarta/Tangerang, Bandung, Solo, and Pontianak, where the Confucian communities during the period of 1900s to 1940s were vibrant.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

Launched in summer 2013 with the IFLA World Library and Information Congress papers, this collection will continue to grow with the addition of existing and new resources. Focuses on 2010s and later.

Draws on hundreds of journals and other research produced in and about Indonesia. Strongest after 2000.

The CIA World Factbook is an easy-to-use, authoritative resource that provides maps and quick-reference facts and statistics (e.g. geography, government, people, economy, energy, etc.) for nations and regions.