History of the Pacific

Aggregates digital collections from around the U.S. and offers excellent tools to discover and explore them. Focuses on 17th to 21st centuries.

The project focused on researching and compiling resources pertaining to the lesser-known history of the Asian American immigration experience on the West Coast during the first half of the 20th century. Includes information on Angel Island and some case files as examples.

Collections include photographs, postcards, and film, among other sources. Documents include multiple different migrant groups. Record searching with keywords associated with groups.

Collections include historic topographical maps for California; California Social Welfare Archives; Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Collection, ca.1880-1933; Robin Dunitz Slides of Los Angeles Murals, 1925-2002; Filipino American Library Collection; Japanese Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection; Korean American Digital Archive; Peace Corps Korea Archive; Taiwanese American Archives; Ailing Zhang (Eileen Chang) Papers, 1919-1994; and more.

Public opinion statistics and data on immigrants in the United States.

DAG repository is a repository of digital materials published by the United Nations. Includes UN official documents of the main policy-making bodies, UN publications,
UN maps, UN Archival collections, UN Multimedia collections.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

The Center for Oral History (COH), in the Department of Ethnic Studies at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, collects, documents, preserves and highlights the recollections of Native Hawaiians and the multi-ethnic people of Hawaiʻi. It produces oral histories and interpretive historical materials about lifeways, key historic events, social movements and Hawaiʻi’s role in the globalizing world, for the widest possible use.

This collection focuses on those members of the Central Coast community who are of Asian/Pacific-American heritage. The collection is based on a photographic exhibit produced by the Black Gold System Advisory Board in 1995. The photographs were borrowed from a number of individuals within the Asian-American communities and local historical societies in the counties of San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura. The photos portray the Chinese-American, Filipino-American and Japanese-American communities prior to 1949.

Rice University's digital collection includes oral interviews with Asian American, Zoroastrian, Vietnamese, and other communities in Houston. The collections also include photographs, immigration documents, and some newspapers. Samplings of the later are online.

The project includes thirty-nine interviews with Minnesotans who speak about their Asian backgrounds. Some emigrated from Asian countries as children and spent much of the twentieth century in Minnesota; other narrators were born in the state and grew up as the children or grandchildren of immigrants; and others are newer Minnesotans, having arrived in the 1960s and 1970s.

California Revealed is a State Library initiative to help California’s public libraries, in partnership with other local heritage groups, digitize, preserve, and provide online access to archival materials - books, newspapers, photographs, audiovisual recordings, and more - that tell the incredible stories of the Golden State. We also provide free access and preservation services for existing digital collections for partner organizations with in-house digitization programs. The California Revealed Project is supported by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.

The project focused on researching and compiling resources pertaining to the lesser-known history of the Asian American immigration experience on the West Coast during the first half of the 20th century. Includes information on Angel Island and some case files as examples.

We provide public access to the unique historical and cultural resources held by UTSA Special Collections. These materials represent a selection of our growing collection of photographs, archival documents, oral histories, rare books, and University Archives.

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter.

CHSA promotes the contributions and legacy of the Chinese in America through its exhibitions, publications, and educational and public programs in the Museum and Learning Center. Includes commentary and images on different points in Chinese-American history.

Collection of artifacts excavated in 1992 from a Chinese laundry, Santa Barbara, dating from about 1885 to 1905 (143 records); Collection of old Chinatown artifacts excavated in 1989-1991 from Union Station area, Los Angeles, dating from 1880 to 1933 (1,040 records)

This website provides an overview of that history and offers an online, searchable index to many of the nearly 200,000 “casefiles” held at NARA which cover the era of the Chinese Exclusion Act (1880-1943).

Between 1864 and 1869, thousands of Chinese migrants toiled at a grueling pace and in perilous working conditions to help construct America’s first Transcontinental Railroad. The Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project seeks to give a voice to the Chinese migrants whose labor on the Transcontinental Railroad helped to shape the physical and social landscape of the American West.

Includes digital collections highlighting community photographs, Chinese Opera, ephemera, applications, and greeting cards.
Designed for browsing, not for searching.

As part of the Chinese Historical Wrongs Legacy Initiative, the BC Archives has digitized a selection of documents related to criminal prosecutions against the Chinese community from 1866 to 1914, found in GR-0419. These are mainly records created as part of the preliminary hearing held before a judge in order to determine whether there was sufficient evidence to proceed to trial.

Chronicling more than 130 years of Japanese American history—from the first Issei generation through the World War II incarceration to the present-day, the Japanese American National Museum digital collections include paintings and photographs of the California and Utah concentration camps from the 1940s; diaries and papers about daily life; oral histories and scrapbooks.

A selection of more than 200 facsimiles of materials belonging to temples and private collections in four cities: Jakarta/Tangerang, Bandung, Solo, and Pontianak, where the Confucian communities during the period of 1900s to 1940s were vibrant.

SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States. It contains 1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text selected from the Archive to represent a cross section of our holdings.

SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States. It contains 1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text selected from the Archive to represent a cross section of our holdings.

The organization's online collection features photographs and some other documentation.

These records document the conditions of refugee camps in Southeast Asia and resettlment in Camp Pendleton, California, collected by James A. Schill, a retired Foreign Service Officer with the U.S. Department of State and USAID. The collection comprises mostly of color photographs of Vietnamese and Cambodian refugees at refugee camps in Malaysia and Thailand between 1975 to mid 1980s, as well as photographs of refugee resettlement in Camp Pendleton in 1975. Also included is a Vietnamese boat person refugee's pocket diary with entries written in English, Vietnamese and French from 1979, detailing their journey to Pulau Bidong, Malyasia.

SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences. Collections include oral interviews, photographs, labor records, brochures, and more. Contemporary (2010s) focus with some historical content dating back to the early 1900s.

The South Asian Collection documents non-resident South Asian political and cultural organizations in North America and abroad, particularly in the San Francisco Bay Area from 1971-2004. The collection consists of pamphlets, press releases, and open letters that related to the cultural and political activities of several South Asian organizations. The collection also contains documents from non-South Asian activist organizations operating in the Bay Area during this period, including underground radical groups and University of California at Santa Cruz student organizations. The collection is partially digitized for the Digital Library by format. For additional information about using images in this collection, contact the SJSU Special Collections Department.