Latin American Studies

Introductions, Encyclopedias, Bibliographies

Guide to print and electronic resources for Latin American Studies.

Online Encyclopedias and Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies is a tool designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to chapter, book, website, archive, or data set selected by experts in the subject. It features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. Each topic included within this guide has a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. The citations link out to the sources via the library collection or through Google books and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latino Studies
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latino Studies is a tool designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to chapter, book, website, archive, or data set selected by experts in the subject. It features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. Each topic included within this guide has a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. The citations link out to the sources via the library collection or through Google books and more.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Draws together historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East; addresses identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
Philosophy in Latin America
From Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

LANIC Resource Guides

Directory by country and subject of high quality web-based information identified by academics at the University of Texas Center for Latin American Studies

LANIC Web-based Resource Guides

Introductions to Latin American Studies

Companion to Latin American Anthropology
This guide "introduces English-language readers to the debates, traditions, and sensibilities that have shaped the [anthropological] study of this diverse region."
A Companion to Latin American History
A compendium of chronologically and thematically arranged descriptive and interpretive essays on the history of Latin America.
A Companion to Latina/o Studies
A collection of essays exploring "everything from theories of latinismo, immigration, education, language and religion; to discussions on political and economic perspectives, and race, class, gender, and sexuality."
Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture
Essays analyze Latin American history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and consider the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America.
Cambridge History of Latin America
Authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America - Mexico and Central America, the Spanish-speaking Caribbean (and Haiti), Spanish South America and Brazil - from the first contacts between the native peoples of the Americas and Europeans to the present day. 11 volumes.
Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress
A sampling of guides and reference aids that provide information on selected Luso-Hispanic holdings of the Library of Congress.
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Balderston, Daniel, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. López. eds. Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 v. (O'Neill Reference F1406.E515 2000)

Cambridge History of Latin America. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1984. (O'Neill Stacks F1410.C1834 1984)

Enciclopedia Hispánica. Barcelona: Encyclopídia Britannica Publishers, c1991-1992. (O'Neill Reference AE61.E52 1992)

Javierre, José María. Gran Enciclopedia de España y América : Biblioteca del V Centenario. Madrid : Gela : Espasa-Calpe/Argantonio, 1983- . T. 1. Los habitantes, hasta Colón. T. 2. Los habitantes, Mestizaje; población actual. T.3. La Tierra. T. 4. El descubrimiento, siglo XV-siglo XVI. T. 5. Desarrollo, independencia, siglos XVII, XVIII y XIX. T. 6. Nuestro tiempo, siglos XIX y XX. T. 8. Literatura, prosa, verso. T. 9. Arte. (O'Neill Stacks F1408 .G73 1983)

Rossi, Ernest E and Jack C. Plano. Latin America: A Political Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1992. (O'Neill Reference F1406.R67 1992)

Tenenbaum, Barbara A. ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1996. 5 volumes. (O'Neill Stacks F1406 .E53 1996 )

Werner, Michael S. et al eds. Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. (O'Neill Reference F1204 .F539 1997)

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Latin American Studies

Introductions, Encyclopedias, Bibliographies

Online Encyclopedias and Bibliographies

LANIC Resource Guides

Introductions to Latin American Studies

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries