Latin American Studies

Archives, Special Collections & Primary Sources

Guide to print and electronic resources for Latin American Studies.

Archives, Special Collections & Primary Sources

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture, drawn from the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project." Includes advertisements, books, broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, newspapers, pamphlets, periodicals, poems, reviews, and short stories. Full title list
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
This global collection of documents, video and images addresses border control and disputes, refugees, undocumented migration, human trafficking and more in regions around the world. Materials in the collection cover the 19th century to present day. Border and Immigration Studies Online is cross-searchable with Human Rights Studies Online.

Boston's Latino/a Community History Collection
Boston's Latino/a Community History Collection is a project of the Northeastern University's University Archives and Special Collections. Over 41,000 items were selected, digitized, and made freely available to be a resource for community members, scholars, and students of all ages. These items were drawn from two local partner organizations whose historical records were donated to Northeastern University, Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción and La Alizanza Hispana
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean, The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 (Adam Matthew)
Interface in English; Material predominately in English, French, and Spanish.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
BC institutional login required.
Cuban Periodicals: cultural magazines published by Casa de las Américas, 1960-2009
This primary source collection gives access to the archives (1960–2009) of four cultural magazines published by Casa de las Américas in Havana, Cuba. It includes the highly influential journal Casa, the theater journal Conjunto, the music journal Boletín de Música, and, finally, Anales del Caribe, a journal about the rich artistic and literary production in the Caribbean.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized manuscripts and print material related to colonial history, politics and culture from the European and non-European perspective, spanning from the 15th to 20th century
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Focused on 15 significant commodities: Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Oil, Opium, Porcelain, Silver & Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, and Wine & Spirits. Each commodity is documented through manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, and rare books, allowing students to explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.

Human Rights Documentation Initiative
This University of Texas Libraries's initiative preserves vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, promotes the usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy.

Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online provides documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection includes text and video that give voice to the countless victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries committed during the Holocaust, and in Armenia, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and other locations.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
From the archives of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency come government reports covering all aspects of global migration during much of the 20th-century, including such pivotal events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more. This digital archive captures translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents, along with analysis by the CIA predecessor agency.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals held by the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam, documenting the anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist periods in the history of Latin American labor movements. Covers late 19th through early 20th century.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
Issues from more than 50 newspapers from countries including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela dating from the 19th to early 20th century. Search and browse by title, language, date and place of publication.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America; also includes essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement, universal concerns of women, and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.

World Digital Library
The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Latin American Studies

Archives, Special Collections & Primary Sources

Archives, Special Collections & Primary Sources