Latin American Studies

Statistics

Guide to print and electronic resources for Latin American Studies.

Key Sources

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
Annual publication from the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean presents data on economic and social trends in the countries of the region.
more...less...
- Chapter one covers demographic and social areas, with special attention to gender
- Chapter two presents basic economic information, including production, prices, international trade, balance of payments and national accounts
- Chapter three provides information on natural resources and the environment, in response to increasing regional and international interest in sustainable development
- Chapter four provides readers with methodological and other data on sources, definitions and coverage of the statistics cited.,?li>
World Databank. World Bank
Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor and Millennium Development Goals. Includes mapping and graphing tools.
Inter-American Development Bank: Statistics & Tools
Over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean available via a variety of interactive tools.
Latin American Network Information Center: Statistics
Links to regional and country-specific statistical resources.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook
Data on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce collected from national statisical authorities on an annual basis.
more...less...
Special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others.

ProQuest Statistical Insight Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Index to local, national and international intergovernmental statistical publications from 1983 to the present. Includes citation information with large number of pdf or spreadsheet downloads available.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion polls containing the full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. In 1981 it began, in print format, as American Public Opinion Index (O'Neill Reference & Stacks HM261.A463).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and more.

Data/Statistics/GIS Support

Need help with Data, Statistics, GIS, SPSS, Stata, a data management plan, or where to archive your data?

For question regarding statistical software and analysis email Data Services.
For advanced Data Research Support contact Rani Dalgin, Data Management Support and SPSS.
Visit the Data/Statistics/GIS Portal for news and key resources.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Latin American Studies

Statistics

Key Sources

Data/Statistics/GIS Support