Latin American Studies

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities. Strongest in the 20th century but includes some material back to the 16th, particularly for Mexico.

From 1992-2015, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

Listen to audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers including Nobel Laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz, and renowned writers Jorge Amado, Jorge Luis Borges, and Julio Cortázar reading from their works at the Library of Congress.

More than seventy sound recordings of interviews by Elisabeth Burgos-Debray are available for immediate access at the Hoover Archives. Included are the interviews of Rigoberta Menchú that formed the basis of her autobiographical book, I, Rigoberta Menchú: An Indian Woman in Guatemala (London: Verso, 1983), compiled by Elisabeth Burgos-Debray. Other interviewees had participated in guerrilla warfare in Venezuela, Guatemala, Colombia, and Peru, as well as several who were survivors of Che Guevara's rebel army in Bolivia.

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Interface in English, German, or Spanish. Content predominately in Spanish.
Includes digital surrogates (i.e., copies) of thousands of books and journals, hundreds of maps, some photographs, and more from across Latin America. Covers the 19th and first half of the 20th centuries.
Open Access.

Focused on Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Spanish Florida. The Slave Societies Digital Archive (SSDA) is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. Draws heavily on records from the Catholic church (e.g., baptismal records) and builds with images, maps, and other material.

An important feature of this web site containing important historical documents is its search engine, which allows you to look easily for specific documents or documents by subject. It has documents grouped by century, major collection, subject, author and title.

Hein Online collection of country constitutions, constitutional hierarchies , and texts and journals on consitutional law.

The Library of Congress purchased this collection now described as Spanish Legal Documents (15th-19th Centuries) in 1941 and it was microfilmed in 1983 and 1984. They were primarily issued individually in sections, which varied from 1 to 6 folios; the majority of the documents were printed using handset type on handmade paper which is in exceptionally good condition.

Since September 5, 2001, the Virtual Legal Library of the Institute of Legal Research of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México has made full text and free access materials available to law scholars, books, magazines and other materials.

Provides cross-database searching for legal materials of all types for countries around the world. Includes government departments and agencies, court cases, legislation, treaties, journals and more.

Search several picture and film archives collections, including the Hulton Picture Archive, National Geographic, Time Life, Bridgeman Art Library.

Provides over 1,800 images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in various countries of the region from the mid-19th century to c. 1910. Images come from an array of sources, such as promotional albums compiled as travel souvenirs for tourists, studio portraits, personal photographic albums, glass lantern slides and stereoscopic images, as well as images captured by professional and amateur photographers. The geographic scope of the collection includes Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, and Uruguay, with particular focus on the cities of Buenos Aires, Havana, Lima, Mexico City, Montevideo, Rio de Janeiro, San José de Costa Rica, and Tegucigalpa.

BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries. Highlighted digital collections in geography and travel, periodicals, music, and tales and legends. Includes English interface while most documents are in Spanish.

Provides access to selected full-text resources.
Select "Literatura", "Catálogo," then "Biblioteca de Autores" (Iberian writers). For Hispanic and Latin American writers select "Biblioteca Americana", select "Biblioteca de Autores".

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Pamphlets, posters, and other campaign literature issued primarily by political parties in Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Chile, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, and El Salvador (1980-2009).

"The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services. Even though posters produced in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Mexico, and Venezuela are the most abundant among the more than two thousand currently available in the site."

Content and interface in Spanish.
"Latin America has been and is a continent of magazines. Its periodic press was in the 19th century constitutive in the process of formation of the Latin American nations. Its magazines were the spokesmen for all the movements that shook the continent, from literary modernism at the end of the 19th century, passing through anarchism, socialism, communism, the vanguards, university reform, antifascism, nationalisms, Trotskyism. , Maoism, Guevarism, reaching all the variants of the new Latin American left."

Interface in English, German, or Spanish. Content predominately in Spanish.
Includes digital surrogates (i.e., copies) of thousands of books and journals, hundreds of maps, some photographs, and more from across Latin America. Covers the 19th and first half of the 20th centuries.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Chile’s digital repository includes some scholarship as well as more than 10,000 digitized maps, engravings, photos, and documents from the colonial period to 1999, with emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries. Collections also include a subset of both audio material and film.

Interface in English; Material predominately in English, French, and Spanish.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
BC institutional login required.

Contains more than 55,000 declassified documents from the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental institute that collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The documents are organized by Collections, providing an archival record concerning important public policy decisions in the area of foreign affairs and national security.

Declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act. Out of George Washington University.

The private memoranda, desk diaries, and notes, 1915-1922, of diplomat and lawyer Robert Lansing (1864-1928) consist of 22 volumes (3,090 images) located in containers 63-67 of a larger collection of Lansing papers available for research use onsite in the Library of Congress Manuscript Reading Room. They were digitized from 3 reels of previously produced microfilm. The entire collection spans the years 1831-1935, with the bulk of the material concentrated in the period 1914-1920, when Lansing served as counsellor for the Department of State (1914-1915) and as secretary of state (1915-1920), with a focus on World War I and Lansing's participation in the American commission to negotiate peace. The collection also documents the gradual rift between him and President Woodrow Wilson which eventually culminated in his resignation in 1920, the Lusitania affair, the Mexican crisis, the arming of merchant shipping, the Irish rebellion, the purchase of the Danish West Indies, relations with Japan and China, and Latin America and the proposed Pan American Pact. Many of these subjects are also found in this digitized subset of Lansing's papers.

The Dept. of State Formulation maintains records about the formulation and execution of U.S. Foreign Policy; Administration and operations of the Department of State and U.S. Missions abroad; as well as Consular assistance given to U.S. Citizens abroad.
Open Access.

from the Wilson Center, includes declassified documents, images, oral history transcripts and the Database on Inter-Korean Relations

The Library of Congress purchased this collection now described as Spanish Legal Documents (15th-19th Centuries) in 1941 and it was microfilmed in 1983 and 1984. They were primarily issued individually in sections, which varied from 1 to 6 folios; the majority of the documents were printed using handset type on handmade paper which is in exceptionally good condition.