Hebrew Bible / Old Testament

Interpretation History

This is a guide that explores resources in biblical studies focusing on the Hebrew Bible, or Old Testament.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by John Hayes
Call Number: TML Reference: BS500 .D5 1999
The Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation is a comprehensive reference work that explores the history of human reflection and research on the meaning of the Old and New Testaments. This major new reference work on the theory and practice of biblical interpretation explores the history of reflection, research, and commentary on Scripture.

Using the Encyclopedia of Biblical Reception

As its name implies, The Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (EBR) is an encyclopedia of entries pertaining to important biblical topics, people, and places arranged in alphabetical order. This can be useful for gaining further insight into particular topics that may come up during exegesis. Currently, the EBR is still being written with volumes 1-17 (out of 30) available online.

General Books

Jewish Interpretation of the Bible [Online] by Karin Hedner Zetterholm
Call Number: TML Stacks BS1186 .Z48 2012
Karin Hedner Zetterholm introduces the legal, theological, and historical presuppositions that shaped the dominant stream of rabbinic interpretation, including Mishnah, Talmud, and Midrashim, discussing examples of different interpretive methods, and explores the contours of Jewish biblical interpretation evident in the New Testament and the legacy of ancient traditions in the way different Jewish movements read the Bible today.
Hebrew Bible/Old Testament by Magne Saebo (Editor); C. Brekelmans (Editor); Menahem Haran (Editor); Chris Brekelmans
Call Number: Theology and Ministry Library Stacks: BS1160 .H44 1996
This large international standard work unites Christian and Jewish experts from all over the world. It comprehensively depicts the Old Testament exegesis from the beginnings of the biblical interpretation of the script to current research. The first sub-volume leads from canonical questions to early Jewish, New Testament, rabbinical and patristic interpretations to Augustine. It ends with a summary of the church and synagogue as the respective top soil for the development of binding script interpretation.
The Hebrew Bible [Online] by John Barton (Editor)
This book brings together some of the world's most exciting scholars from across a variety of disciplines to provide a concise and accessible guide to the Hebrew Bible. It covers every major genre of book in the Old Testament together with in-depth discussions of major themes such as human nature, covenant, creation, ethics, ritual and purity, sacred space, and monotheism. This authoritative overview sets each book within its historical and cultural context in the ancient Near East, paying special attention to its sociological setting. It provides new insights into the reception of the books and the different ways they have been studied, from historical-critical enquiry to modern advocacy approaches such as feminism and liberation theology.
The Cambridge Companion to the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament [Online] by Stephen B. Chapman (Editor); Marvin A. Sweeney (Editor)
This companion examines a range of topics, including the historical and religious contexts for the contents of the biblical canon, and critical approaches and methods, as well as newer topics such as the Hebrew Bible in Islam, Western art and literature, and contemporary politics. The book does not presume prior knowledge, nor does it engage in highly technical discussions, but it does go into greater detail than a typical introductory textbook.

Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture [Online]
The ACCS is a collection of early Church Fathers' commentary on scripture, translated into English. Arranged in canonical order, students can read how Church Fathers interpreted important passages throughout the bible. An excellent resource for researching early Christian interpretation history.

Dead Sea Scrolls

The Dead Sea Scrolls by Florentino Garcia Martinez; Eibert J. C. Tigchelaar
Call Number: Theology and Ministry Library Stacks: BM487 .A3 G37 2000
This indispensable two-volume compendium of the Dead Sea Scrolls contains newly edited English translations and summaries of all the biblical and nonbiblical scrolls found at Qumran. Designed as a practical reference tool to facilitate study of the Scrolls, these volumes will be an essential addition to the library of anyone interested in the Dead Sea Scrolls.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls [Online] by Lawrence H. Schiffman (Editor); James VanderKam (Editor)
Featuring 450 articles by an international community of scholars this set is the definitive account of what we know about the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. With contributions from 100 distinguished scholars representing diverse traditions and fields of learning, this volume offers the most comprehensive critical synthesis of current knowledge about the Dead Sea Scrolls--and their historical, archaeological, linguistic, and religious contexts.

The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library [Online]
- An extensive digital library of the Dead Sea Scrolls, students and researchers can see the original scrolls up close and in detail on their computer. The site plans to offer English translations in the future.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Hebrew Bible / Old Testament

Interpretation History

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Using the Encyclopedia of Biblical Reception

General Books

Dead Sea Scrolls