This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Latin American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Latin American Studies   Tags: latin_america  

Identifying and locating resources for Latin American Studies.
Last Updated: Apr 17, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/latam Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This highly selective guide covers the most useful, current and basic reference sources for social sciences and historical information on the Latin American countries and region.

For sources on language and literature in Latin America see the guide to Romance Languages & Literatures.

This guide includes sources professors expect students to consult when researching paper topics and locating data or evidence to support a thesis.

Since the purpose of this guide is to facilitate your research and is only part of the research process, you are encouraged to ask the Reference Desk Staff or me questions while you are in the library or email me your questions.

Additional information and guidance is available from the Subject Specialist for Latin American Studies, Lawrence Busenbark (617-552-2253; lawrence.busenbark@bc.edu).

Introductions to Latin American Studies

  • Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture  Icon
    Essays analyze Latin American history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and consider the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America.
  • Cambridge History of Latin America  Icon
    Authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America - Mexico and Central America, the Spanish-speaking Caribbean (and Haiti), Spanish South America and Brazil - from the first contacts between the native peoples of the Americas and Europeans to the present day. 11 volumes.
  • A Companion to Latin American History  Icon
    A compendium of chronologically and thematically arranged descriptive and interpretive essays on the history of Latin America.
  • A Companion to Latina/o Studies  Icon
    A collection of essays exploring "everything from theories of latinismo, immigration, education, language and religion; to discussions on political and economic perspectives, and race, class, gender, and sexuality."
  • A Companion to Latin American Anthropology  Icon
    This guide "introduces English-language readers to the debates, traditions, and sensibilities that have shaped the [anthropological] study of this diverse region."
  • Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress
    A sampling of guides and reference aids that provide information on selected Luso-Hispanic holdings of the Library of Congress.
  • HLAS Online : Library of Congress Handbook of Latin American Studies
    The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
  • A Reference Guide to Latin American History (O'Neill Reference F1410.H463 2000)

Suggest a Resource!

Do you know of a research resource not listed here?  Use this link to suggest it to the Subject Specialist.

Bibliographer

Profile Image
Lawrence Busenbark
Contact Info
617-552-2253
O'Neill Library 212
Send Email

Research Tools

  • Quest
    Use the library catalog to locate books, journal titles, videos, cds, and other library materials.
  • General Reference Works Online  Icon
    Facts on File, Encyclopedia Britannica, Oxford Reference Online, and many more.
  • WorldCat
    OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Find resources at other libraries that are available via interlibrary loan.
  • Refworks  
      
    Automatically formats bibiliographies according to APA, MLA, and a variety of other citation styles.
  • Citation Formats
    Guides to APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and AMA citation styles.
  • Reference Universe
    Searches index terms and article titles to both electronic and print reference works. Over 20,000 reference works are now represented.
  • Ask A Librarian 24/7
    Research Assistance is available 24/7 via chat, e-mail or telephone.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip