Adult HealthCommunity HealthMaternal-Child HealthMental HealthNurse Anesthesia
BioethicsEvidence-based PracticeHealth StatisticsMedical & Health LawPharmacology Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Nursing  Tags: health nursing  

Essential resources to begin your research in Nursing are included in this Research Guide.
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Supporting Resources            Print Page
  
 

Supporting Resources

Other Resources at BC

These links will take you to other research guides at BC that you may find helpful when looking for background information in the natural sciences.

  • Chemistry Research Guide  
    This guide provides helpful information on how to find resources in chemistry at Boston College.
  • Biology Research Guide  
    Here you will find a helpful guide on how to find background information in the biological sciences at Boston College.
 
 

Professional Publications & Archival Materials

Publications of Nursing Organizations
American Nurses Association (ANA) (RT1 .A6+ publication number), National League for Nursing (NLN) (RT1 .N3+ publication number), Sigma Theta Tau. These organizations feature publications on nursing schools and educational programs, accreditation, curricula, faculty, students, licensure, credentialing, career guidance, nursing practice, patient care, standards, ethics, legislation, politics, economics, research and statistics.

Archival Materials in the Burns Library
The Nursing Book Collection consists of a collection of several hundred volumes which are important to the study of the history and ethics of the Nursing profession. The Nursing and Medical Ethics manuscript collection contains the papers and memorabilia of the following:
  • The American Association of Nurse Attorneys
  • Colliton, Margaret A.
  • Dolan, Josephine (History of Nursing)
  • LaForet, Eugene G. (Bio-medical Ethics Collection)
  • Libraries and Information for Nursing Consortium
  • MacDonald, Mary
  • Medical Library Association
  • New England Deaconess Hospital School of Nursing
  • North American Nursing Diagnosis Association
  • Northrop, Cynthia E.
  • Vaillot, Madeleine Clemence
  • Visiting Nurse Association of Boston
 

School of Nursing History

From February to June, 2007, there was an exhibit at the O'Neill Library celebrating the 60th anniversary of the Connell School of Nursing at Boston College. Although the exhibit no longer exists physically in the library, you can see this tribute online, including clips of a video interview with the former dean, Barbara Hazard.

Passionate Students Compassionate Healers: Sixty Years of Nursing at Boston College

If you are interested in the bigger picture of the history of nursing, the American Association for the History of Nursing has an excellent website with more information and links to other resources.

Click here to listen to audio clips from interviews with CSON faculty, deans, students, and alumni on the subject of research in nursing.

 

Nursing/Health Sciences

Profile ImageWanda Anderson
Contact Info:
Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Library
Room 310
(617) 552-4457
Send Email

Subjects:
Nursing and Health Sciences

 

Nursing Informatics

This is an exciting time for the field of informatics, especially bioinformatics and medical or health informatics. The website of the American Nursing Informatics Association is a great place to start if you are interested in learning more about the role of informatics in nursing and finding educational, networking and job opportunities.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait