Have you seen a misprint?
We know that mistakes are made all the time, and we know you'd like to fix them; however, we have a policy against that.
The Boston College University Libraries Digital Program works to accurately reproduce, make available, and preserve published and unpublished material from the Libraries' holdings. The program follows professional best practices with regard to copyright and authenticity. Although printed materials often contain typographical or factual errors, our endeavor is to document material as created, not to correct the historical record.
Boston College yearbook
Sub Turri was first published in 1913. The title, Sub Turri, is Latin for "under the tower" and reflects a sense of pride in the Chestnut Hill campus in general and Gasson Hall in particular.
Newton College of the Sacred Heart yearbook
Newton College of the Sacred Heart was a women's college that opened in 1946 and graduated its first class in 1950. In 1971, the college founded the Institute of Open Education, which later became Cambridge College. Due to the coeducation of many formerly all-male colleges in universities, Newton College of the Sacred Heart struggled financially, and, in June of 1974, merged with Boston College. The last graduating class from Newton College of the Sacred Heart was the class of 1975. Boston College recognizes the alumna of Newton College of the Sacred Heart and considers these graduates part of the legacy that is the Boston College Alumni.
Boston College Periodicals
Boston College has had a magazine for alumni since 1933. It is now called "Boston College Magazine," but it has had a number of previous titles. Names for this publication have been: Alumnus (1933-1935); Alumni Review (1935-1936); Alumni News (1937-1970); Bridge (1970-1978); and, now, Boston College Magazine (1978- ).
Boston College Magazine (1978-)
Bridge: a magazine for the Boston College community (1970-1977)
Alumni news (1937-1970)
Alumni review (1935-1936)
Librarium: for Friends of Boston College Library (1951-1962)
The Fact Book
The Boston College Fact Book is released annually by the Office of Institutional Research. The Office provides four ways to view the information published in the Fact Book:
- PDF versions of all the Fact Books most suitable if you wish to view a comprehensive and detailed publication of Boston College facts.
- Interactive Trend Tables provide historical information on featured data, which are appropriate for online viewing or downloaded into Excel for further analysis.
- Interactive Maps display geographic and building information in a dynamic online environment.
- Facts at a Glance is a concise set of facts and figures that provides an easy-to-read overview of Boston College.
Pamphlets about Boston College
University Charles F. Donovan prepared pamphlets, or occassional papers, on topics having to do with Boston College history. These are now available online.
- Boston College and the Lawrence family.
- The Gerard Manley Hopkins original in Hopkins House.
- Pioneers at Chestnut Hill: Recollections of the Class of 1917.
- Rev. Timothy Brosnahan, S.J: Boston College President, 1894-1898, national spokesman for Jesuit liberal education.
- St. Patrick in Gasson Hall.
- Fulton of Fulton Hall.
- Boston College's Boston Priests: An account of Boston College men who became priests of the Archdiocese of Boston, 1877-1993.
- Gasson's rotunda: Gallery of art, history, and religion.
- The Spirit maketh alive: An early Protestant view of Boston College.
- Debate at Boston College: People, places, traditions.
- Boston College's second spring.
- Boston College remembered: 1891-1900.
- Joseph Coolidge Shaw: Boston Yankee, Jesuit, early Boston College patron.
- Boston College's classical curriculum.
- Boston College's Beacon Hill connection.
- Student enrollment at Boston College in the nineteenth century.
- Boston College's first Boston Brahmin friends.
- The Foster Cadets of Boston College.
- Rules of gentlemanly conduct.
- Boston College's streets.
- Boston College's move to Chestnut Hill.
- Nineteenth century Boston College: Irish or American?
The early issues of the Stylus college newspaper, as well as The Heights student newspaper of Boston College and the 885 student newspaper of Newton College of the Sacred Heart, are now available online through newspapers.bc.edu.
Stylus was founded by students in 1883. It featured literary contributions, as well as alumni, athletics, and other college news. By 1933, the Stylus had become an undergraduate literary magazine; it continues as such today. Issues of Stylus, from January 1883 through December 1922, are available online through newspapers.bc.edu.
885 was the student newspaper of Newton College of the Sacred Heart, a Catholic women’s college in operation from 1946 through 1975 when it merged with Boston College. The full run is available on newspapers.bc.edu.
The newspapers are browse-able, searchable, printable, save-able, and email-able. Each is useful for the same reason other newspapers are: it provides a local, contemporary perspective of issues of local, regional, national, or international import. However, these are written in the voices of Boston College and Newton College students, a voice often difficult to find even in the archival record.
Boston College Bulletin and its predecessors are comprehensive documents for graduate and undergraduate students, and include academic, administrative, and service-related information. The Bulletin is available through the Internet Archive or though the dropdown list below.
Boston College Bulletin (1868-present) listed in reverse chronological order
To use the Bulletin, select the appropriate volume from this list, then select the reading method you prefer from the lefthand side of the screen. Often the choice to "read online" is the easiest.
Newton College of the Sacred Heart Bulletin of Information is the comprehensive document for undergraduate students and includes academic, administrative, and service-related information. The Bulletin of Information is available through the Internet Archive or through the dropdown list below.
Newton College of the Sacred Heart Bulletin of Information (1947-1974) listed in reverse chronological order
To use the Bulletin of Information, select the appropriate volume from this list, then select the reading method you prefer from the left hand side of the screen. Often the choice to "read online" is the easiest.
Books about Boston College
- Dunigan, David R., 1947. A history of Boston College . Milwaukee, Bruce Pub. Co.
- Donovan, Charles F., Paul A. FitzGerald . History of Boston College: From the beginnings to 1990 .
- Birnbaum, Ben, ed., 2008. Founding fathers (Preview): Six Boston College presidents, and the university they built ; profiles from Boston College Magazine.
- Boston College, . Boston College, 1863-1938: A pictorial and historical review commemorating the seventy-fifth anniversary of the founding of the College.
- Ecker, James A., comp. [1941?]. Songs of Boston College . Published for the Boston College Music Club.
- Frost, Jack., 1962. The crowned hilltop: Boston College in its hundredth year.
- Kermes, Stephanie., 2004. Boston College Graduate School of Arts and Sciences: Continuity and change at the heart of Boston College.
- Kinnane, Mary. . A dynamic era in the history of Boston College: The higher education of undergraduate women, the School of Education, 1952-1965.
- Linnehan, James M., Charles F. Donovan, ed. 194-. James M. Linnehan autobiography, [194-]. This autobiography covers Linnehan's life from his early childhood through his student days at Boston College. Much of the work discusses his participation in sports at both Boston College High School and Boston College.
- Meizenzahl, Stuart B., ed. . Centennial history of Boston College.
- Monan, J. Donald. . Echoes of a university presidency (Preview): Selected speeches.
- O'Connor, Thomas H. . Ascending the Heights (Preview): A brief history of Boston College from its founding to 2008.
- O'Connor, Thomas H.  The College and the City: A History of the Boston College Club.
- O'Connor, Thomas H., 2000. Rev. Charles F. Donovan, SJ, 1912-1998.