Theology

The Acta Sanctorum are a principal source of research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe, published over a period of three hundred years by the Société Des Bollandistes.

Twenty different versions of the English Bible from the tenth (West Saxon Bible) to the 20th century. The English Bible of 1970 is the only complete 20th century bible included.

Sixty volume digital library of translated historical sources, spanning 300-800AD. Geographic range covering Syria, Arabia, Armenia, Georgia, Egypt, major cities of the Roman Empire, Spain, Gaul, Italy, Britain, and Ireland.

The database features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe. Published under the TVZ imprint, this definitive edition of Barth's works in German currently comprises 42 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews. As additional print volumes of the Gesamtausgabe become available, they will be added to Alexander Street's The Digital Karl Barth Library. Also included is Barth's magnum opus, the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik.

Transcriptions and facsimiles of documents, including papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives, and devotional works by Catholic authors of the 16th and 17th centuries.

A collection of 1,500 works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras in mostly 16th and 17th century editions. Works include the theological writings of more than 300 Protestant authors, as well as a wide range of confessional documents, biblical commentaries, polemical treatises, and Bible translations. In addition to the usual search categories (author, title, keyword), researchers can limit searches to specific theological topics, social/cultural topics, theological tradition, place of publication, publisher, and document type.

This full text database contains Latin texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from other leading editions. Series A and Series B are meant to complement one another. The Cross Database Searchtool (listed next to LLT) allows searching Series A and B together.

This resource is an interconnected, fully searchable library of over 500 volumes of Latin and Greek texts and their accompanying English translations including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

The Weimar Edition in electronic form. The Weimar Edition, which is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language, was first published in 1883 and includes 112 volumes in 117 sections. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Past Masters uses authoritative recent editions from established, scholarly publishers. Theologians and religious thinkers represented include Augustine, Anselm, Aquinas, Calvin, Kierkegaard, Luther, Pascal, and Simone Weil among others.

The Patrologia Latina contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).

The most comprehensive collection of Greek patristic material relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Though many of the works covered in the series have been published more recently in various critical editions, Patrologi Grc remains the only published source for much of the material. This web version of the Patrologi Grc is composed of digitized page images of the Migne edition. The print PG's tables of contents and index, long considered insufficient and unreliable, have been replaced with comprehensive electronic versions. Although full-text searching is not available, metadata searching (including such items as patristic writers and titles of works in Latin and English) is possible.

The major resource for searching and analyzing Greek texts of the classical, patristic, and medieval eras, searchable title include Septuaginta (A. Rahlfs, 9th edn. Stuttgart: Wrttemberg Bible Society, 1935) and Novum Testamentum (K. Aland, M. Black, C.M. Martini, B.M. Metzger, and A. Wikgren, The Greek New Testament, 2nd edn. Stuttgart: Wrttemberg Bible Society, 1968). Access Requirements: You must create a personal account using your BC email address.