Theology

E-book Collections

This guide is an introduction to the basic resources for doing research in theology and for beginning a biblical exegesis paper.

E-book Collections

The collections listed below are composed of scholarly books or monographs. Collections of pre-twentieth century publications include material which could be regarded as primary texts such as theological texts and devotional and liturgical literature. Each collection may be searched as a whole, or searches may be performed in individual books.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
ACLS will be unavailable on Saturday October 12th from 8am EDT - 4pm EDT due to maintenance by the vendor.

Each year, several hundred already-published titles are converted into ebooks. Titles in this collection included are especially valuable, time-tested books, regularly consulted and cited by scholars and students. The criteria for inclusion in the collection stress a title's importance to humanistic studies.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection consists of two Series that contain more than 29,000 titles focused on religion and theology. In its entirety, the collection is estimated to contain over 10 million pages, representing a core collection for colleges and universities with programs in history, theology, religion, sociology, political science and other disciplines. Series 1 consists of titles from the 13th Century through 1893.
Brepols periodica & miscellanea online This link opens in a new window
Over 300 essay collections in medieval studies published between 1998 and 2011 by Brepols, a major publishing house for research in the medieval period.
Early American Imprints, Series II - Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
The two Series of Early American Imprints provide online access to every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 180-year period. Searchable by genres which include devotional literature, catechsims, liturgucal books, pastoral letters, prayer books, psalters, among others. An extensive subject index identifies works on religious topics from African American churches to Youth, religious life, from Adoption (Canon law) to Worship.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Languages include Latin as well as English and other modern European languages. Works include books by Catholic and Protestant authors as well as prayer books, missals, and other religious publications.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text of significant English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion
The electronic versions of nearly 400 titles in religion and theology published by Oxford University Press. The earliest volume in this collection was published in 1980, and the most recent in 2011, but most were published within the past 12 years.
Theological Commons
As of October 2012, The Theological Commons is a digital open access library of over 75,000 books and journals published before 1923 on theology and religion, including over 25,000 volumes from the Princeton Theological Seminary Library. While heavily Protestant in content, it contains over 6,000 Catholic titles, and nearly 6,000 in church history.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Theology

E-book Collections

E-book Collections