CQ Almanac - offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. 1945-2020.
CQ Magazine - offers current reporting on major pieces of legislation that lawmakers considered. Comes out every two weeks. 1983-current.
Congressional Research Service - The reports are prepared by the Library of Congress for members of Congress on policy contemporaneous to the issues facing the legislature.
Historical Documentation
Congress.gov - Use the Legislation link to explore legislation back to 1973 in both the House and Senate.
ProQuest Congressional - Robust source for Legislative Histories from 1969-present. Also includes important congressional documents back 1789.
Hein Online - Includes the Congressional Record back to 1789, among other historical documents. Browse by Category, U.S. - Federal at the top.
HathiTrust - A digital repository of government documents that range from bills, laws, hearings to commissioned reports on contemporaneous issues.
Proquest Historical Newspapers - The databases includes current and historical news stories from the major publications. Search across the New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, LA Times and more.
Statistics
Data and Statistics - United States - Browse data and statistical sources by topic. Many sites have historical as well as current information.
Describes the major social welfare programs in detail, listing related legislation and finances of many of the programs. See the Archive for past reports.
Hein Online has an extensive archive of CRS reports. The reports are prepared for Congress on policy contemporaneous to the issues facing the legislature.
Describes the major social welfare programs in detail, listing related legislation and finances of many of the programs. See the Archive for past reports.
Search within the Taxation & Economic Reform in America Parts I & II library of the database with the name of the program or policy for budgetary allocation information.
Combined searching of the historical New York Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, NY Amsterdam News, and Chicago Defender.
Statistics put together annual by the office of Homeland Security providing data on foreign nationals in the US.
Acknowledgement
We sincerely thank Ms. Lori Siegel, Brown School Librarian, at Washington University in St. Louis for sharing her Social Policy research guide, from which we heavily borrowed content for this guide.
