Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Social Work Library

:

Contact Us for Help

Located on the lower ground floor of McGuinn Hall, the Social Work Library supports the teaching and research needs of the Boston College School of Social Work (BCSSW)

About Us

Shannon Fiske
Shannon Fiske
Evening Library Supervisor
Email: shannon.fiske@bc.edu
Phone: 617-552-0109
Contact me for: Course Reserves, Canvas instruction, technology assistance or student employment
Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri
9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-3pm
Hannah Ha
Hannah Ha
Head Librarian
Email: hannah.ha@bc.edu
Phone: 617-552-3234
Contact me for: Research assistance, library collection inquires or library facilities questions.
Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri
9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-3pm
Abby Heingartner
Abby Heingartner
Day Library Supervisor
Email: abby.heingartner@bc.edu
Phone: 617-552-3204
Contact me for: Course Reserves, Canvas instruction, technology assistance or student employment
Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri
9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-3pm
Adam Williams
Adam Williams
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Email: adam.williams.2@bc.edu
Phone: 617-552-0792
Set up an Online Meeting
Contact me for: Finding sources, citation assistance or to set-up a class library session
Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri
9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-5pm 9am-3pm
Lauryn Cadet
Lauryn
Cadet
Caitlin Colangelo
Caitlin
Colangelo
Raven Davidson
Raven
Davidson
Kyannah DePina
Kyannah
DePina
Batool Faraj
Batool
Faraj
Paule Houng Beke
Paule
Houng Beke
Tim Hui
Tim
Hui
Maria Paula Jimenez Saenz
Maria Paula
Jimenez Saenz
Bozhena Kulchyckyj
Bozhena
Kulchyckyj
Hwahyun Lim
Hwahyun
Lim
Ashley Maldonado
Ashley
Maldonado
Paulina Martinez
Paulina
Martinez
Kara Murdock
Kara
Murdock
Nicole Perez Elias
Nicole
Perez Elias
Joy Wangbingye
Joy
Wangbingye
 

Social Work Library Mission:

To facilitate the academic goals of the BCSSW community through access to our library resources, services, and space

Social Work Library Vision:

Academic partner of the BCSSW community

BC Libraries Guiding Principles:

Access - We support academic inquiry and intellectual freedom by providing equitable access to the highest quality scholarly resources and services whenever and wherever users need them.
  • Innovation - We are a creative, experimental, and responsive organization that engages with the global scholarly community to achieve distinction in research, learning, and teaching.
  • Stewardship - We cultivate and preserve our collections, manage our resources, and prepare for the future in support of Boston College's academic and spiritual mission.
  • People - We cultivate an open, respectful, diverse, and collaborative environment that contributes to the intellectual and ethical growth of the Boston College community.

Reserve a Study Room or Camera

  • Reservations are limited to Boston College School of Social Work students, faculty, and staff.
  • Other Boston College community members may use the rooms when not occupied but must vacate the room for users with reservations.
  • 4 hours is the maximum amount of time for reservations per group.
  • Groups with reservations must check in at the Circulation Desk before using the study room.

Using the Rooms and Equipment

  • When not reserved, anyone may use the study room on a first come first serve bases. You must vacate the space when requested for groups with a valid reservation.
  • Groups that have not arrived within 15 minutes of their scheduled time will forfeit their reservation and the room will become available.
  • Food is not permitted. You may have drinks with lids only. Library staff will ask anyone with food to take their meal or snack outside the library or room. If the food is not removed, library staff will cancel the remaining reservation and ask the group to leave.
  • Groups using the study rooms are responsible for personal property and any library materials they have checked out. Do not leave your items unattended. The Social Work Library is not responsible or liable for lost or damaged items.
  • Report any damage or equipment failures to the Circulation Desk. If damage is discovered after your use without notification, you may be held responsible.

Social Work Library Food and Beverage Policy

This policy is intended to preserve library materials and to protect facilities from rodents and other pests. It is also intended to create a more pleasant environment for all library users.

Library staff (including library student assistants) reserve the right to remind library users of the policy and then ask them to leave the library if they are unwilling to comply.

Interpretation of the policy is at the discretion of the Social Work Library’s staff.

  • Inside group study rooms and around all technology stations including computers, printers, and scanners:
    • No food
    • Beverages in covered containers only
  • All other areas in the library:
    • Snacks are permitted but NOT meals or noisy, messy, or aromatic foods.
    • Beverages in covered containers only

Examples of Food Not Allowed

  • Salads
  • Pizza
  • Sandwiches
  • Cafeteria meals
  • Takeout
  • Soup

Examples of Allowed Food

  • Fruit
  • Nuts
  • Candy
  • Yogurt
Approved 1/2020

Social Work Library Collection

The SWL serves the needs of the Boston College School of Social Work, as well as the related needs of researchers and students in the other social sciences. The Social Work Library bibliographers select materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline. The bibliographers collaborate with the School of Social Work community and purchase requests by faculty and graduate students whenever possible.

 

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

Teaching and research support for faculty and grad students and curricular support for graduate students are the primary goals. Social work as a discipline cuts across many subject areas including but not limited to behavioral and developmental sciences, psychoanalysis, neurosciences, clinical psychology, social psychology, sociology, environmental science, business, ministry, epidemiology, political science, biology, allied health, culture studies, etc. The depth and breadth of selected disciplinary areas collected depends on the School of Social Work’s areas of research and curricular needs.

 

Format Selection

Format decisions follow the General Collection Development Policy. We do consider preferences of patrons, curricular needs, and other factors.

  • Journals are purchased with perpetual, electronic access whenever possible. Online backfiles are purchased to augment available content or replace print versions.
  • Monographs are preferably purchased as e-books to support wider access. Exceptions may be made at individual user request.
  • Bibliographic databases or indexes are exclusively purchased in electronic format and purchased for the widest possible audience.
  • Data resources are purchased to serve the School of Social Work community or the broader BC community whenever possible.
  • General purpose materials are acquired to support first-level, scientific literacy and non-major courses.

 

Retention of Materials

Retention follows the General Collection Development Policy.

 

Acceptance of Gifts

Gifts are accepted according to the General Gifts Policy.

General Contact Information

Social Work Library, McGuinn B38
Boston College
140 Commonwealth Avenue
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3810

Phone: 617-552-0109
E-mail: swlib@bc.edu

Maps and Directions to Boston College

The Social Work Library is located on the lower ground floor of McGuinn Hall.