History of Childhood and Education

The collection consists of the business records of Boston-based educational publishing company Allyn and Bacon, a Pearson imprint. The company was founded in 1868 by John Allyn as an educational publishing company with a focus on the areas of education, humanities, and social sciences. In 1888, George Andrew Bacon entered into partnership with Allyn, creating the publishing company Allyn and Bacon.

The collection includes materials which document the founding of the company and subsequent agreements and purchases, the development and growth of internal publications, such as catalogs and price lists, and includes staff photographs and executive portraits, as well as sales and production artifacts, like a large traveling case and softball team apparel. The records also consist of audiovisual materials including oral histories and training videos.

From the Annie E. Casey Foundation. This site features raw, downloadable data on children's well-being in each state.

Data collected in the fall and the spring of kindergarten (1998-99), the fall and spring of first grade (1999-2000), the spring of third grade (2002) and the spring of 8th grade (2007) for the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-99. Representative sample of approximately 22,000 children in private and public schools.

Topics well-represented in the archive include sexual orientation, gender roles and the status of women, race, and socio-economic status. Application may need to be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use the data.

The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect at Cornell University focuses on the field of child maltreatment. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes the datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis. NOTE: Application must be made directly to NDACAN for permission to use the data.