Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

History of Childhood and Education

:

Scholarship

This is a brief guide to getting started in studying the history of childhood and/or education. The guide provides access points to finding reference material; scholarly books and articles; as well as various primary source sets focused on schools, childr

Researching the History of Childhood and/or Education

This is a brief guide to approaching the history of childhood and the history of education. This first page provides access points to a selection of reference materials (i.e., dictionaries and encyclopedias) as well as suggestions for journal databases. See the "History of Education" and "Childhood in US Primary Sources" for suggested primary source materials (i.e., photographs, government reports, and more). 

Reference Shelf

Reference Shelf: Encyclopedia

Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

WorldCat Catalog


Books Only   All Formats  

Journal and eBook Database Recommendations

For a selection of excellent journals and some e-books on various topics in global history, we recommend a few databases. Remember to explore these database "advanced search" options for date and other modifiers before you run your searches.

Additional Recommendations

Individual Titles

Subject Librarian for History

Profile Photo
Bee Lehman, Ph.D.
they/them
Contact:
Office: O'Neill Library 414A

Office hours in Stokes S 394 Monday from 11am - 1pm.
Schedule an Appointment to talk on Google Meet, Zoom, or Skype.
Skype Contact: brittany.lehman@bc.edu