History of Christianity

This series contains overviews of topics in
a variety of disciplines written by leading scholars. They are useful for the background information they provide and the suggestions they offer for further reading. Notable volumes covering content in church history include: Catholic Theology, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Early Christian Studies, Early Christian Ritual, Early Modern Theology, Jesuits, John Henry Newman, Latin American Christianity, the Oxford Movement, the Reception of Aquinas, Reformed Theology, Vatican II, and others.

These volumes are similar to the Oxford Handbooks, in that they provide an overview of various topics, many of which are in religion. Some subjects covered include: American Catholicism, American Protestantism, Apostolic Fathers, Aquinas, Augustine's 'City of God,' Augustine's 'Confessions,' the Council of Nicaea, the Council of Trent, Joseph Ratzinger, Vatican II, and others.

A key resource containing entries on saints, church officials, theologians, teachers, religious congregations, dioceses, monasteries, etc., dating back to antiquity.

A bibliography of all aspects of the European Middle Ages including theology and philosophy.

A database containing books, articles, reviews, and book chapters on the Nag Hammadi Library, contributing to the study of Gnosticism and early Christianity.

This resource contains bibliographies on numerous topics, including medieval studies and the Renaissance and Reformation periods. Each bibliographical subject, covers a multitude of subdisciplines, each listing sources of various genres of high scholarly quality.

A reference work on the history of ecumenism within Christianity.

Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists, LexMA's signed articles written by 3,000 authors cover all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500.

Religion Past and Present (RPP) is a complete, updated English translation of the 4th edition of the highly respected 13 volume encyclopedia of religions, Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). Interdisciplinary articles cover a wide range of topics from history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, visual arts, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy.

Routledge Medieval Studies is a subject encyclopedia of scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics about the medieval era world, ranging from late antiquity through the 16th C. It focuses primarily on Europe, but many articles touch on topics all over the world. The resource is full-text searchable and browsable by region, era, and topic.