History of Christianity

Full text of numerous medieval history documents, including over three thousand pages of medieval sources translated and edited by leading medievalists.

This database provides direct access to a wide collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. These sources tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature and science. The project combines: a) Multiple manuscript sources detailing the journeys of famous travelers from Prester John and Marco Polo to Sir John Mandeville and John Capgrave; b)Translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); c) Maps showing the routes of the travelers; d) Introductory essays by leading scholars.

Contains the major works of Aquinas, Bonaventure as well as other medieval theologians.

The Acta Sanctorum are a principal source of research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe, published over a period of three hundred years by the Socit Des Bollandistes. This resource brings together materials on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century.

A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 C.E. Contains texts from important authors such as St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, Peter Abelard.

This full text database contains Latin texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from other leading editions. Series A and Series B are meant to complement one another. The Cross Database Searchtool (listed next to LLT) allows searching Series A and B together.

Key resource containing a wide range of medieval historical texts from Northeastern and Central Europe.

Contains the major works of Aquinas, as well as other Christian writers. Contains some English translations.

The Patrologia Latina contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).

Searchable database of the “Sources Chrétiennes” series, which provides critical editions of texts of the first 1400 years of the Christian Church. The editions feature French translations of texts in Greek, Latin, Syriac, Aramaic, and Georgian.