Library Orientation for Direct Entry Nursing Students

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) or WorldCat to request items we don't own or currently unavailable items.

Recommend items for our collections. Also contact me directly about expensive items like reference works, journal backfiles, and multi-volume handbooks.

Get help via email, phone, or 24/7 chat. Use this link and the O'Neill Library Reference Desk on Level 3 as your starting points.

A collection of brief introductory videos with skills, strategies, and concepts helpful for research in Boston College Libraries.

LinkedIn Learning video collection covering Gmail, and other Google apps: Calendar, Docs, Drive, Forms, Meet, Sheets, and Slides.

Includes CINAHL, the Cochrane Library, EMBASE, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, PsycINFO, PubMed and MEDLINE (Ovid), and more.

Starting point for library nursing and health sciences resources.

Starting point for library resources on global public health.

The Burns collection includes rare books on the history of nursing, nursing practice, and nursing education. Manuscript collections include papers and memorabilia from Josephine A. Dolan (nursing history), Marjory Gordon and the North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA), Eugene G. Laforet (medical ethics), and the American Association of Nurse Attorneys. Contact Burns staff for more information about using rare books, special collections, and archival materials for your research and teaching.

The Social Work Library contains resources on case management, interdisciplinary teams, managed care, and psychology.

Search our catalog by full or partial journal title. Connect to full text journal issues.

Cover a wide range of scholarly topics, from Advanced Search Techniques to Zotero.

Information about research data management and data tools.

Resources and services, including the BC DMP Tool, supporting compliance with National Institutes of Health (NIH) data sharing policy.

Describes the system and process for submitting your thesis or dissertation.

The Libraries administer a fund that provides money to defray article publishing fees for fully open access journal articles authored by Boston College faculty or students.

Check with your PI before selecting a citation tool. We recommend Zotero.

Use links and tabs on this page to reserve a digital technology space or workstation with specific software at O'Neill Library.

You can borrow books from any of the libraries in the BLC. Consortium cards may be obtained at the Circulation Desk in O'Neill Library or at the Law Library.

Commonly known as the "Reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program," this program allows faculty members of participating institutions borrowing privileges and on-site access to almost 200 important research libraries, mostly in North America. You must have an RFBP borrowing card, issued by Boston College, to gain access or borrow from a participating institution.

One of the world's leading resources for the study of the history of health and medicine, the Center maintains collections of rare books, journals, archives, manuscripts, artifact collections, and visual, sound, and moving image works. Check access policies before visiting.