Use Scifinder/SciFinder-N to search for literature, substances, reactions, data and more.
It encompasses the complete Chemical Abstracts database, covering the world's literature of chemistry and related fields from 1907 -. All types of literature are covered, including journal articles, books, patents, etc.
Members of the Boston College community can register for access to SciFinder or SciFinder-N by following the link, above.
Resources useful for learning about and using SciFinder include Information Retrieval: SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar. Ridley, D. D. New York, NY: J. Wiley & Sons, 2002.(O'Neill Library Reference Z 699.5 .S3 R53 2002) Use this book to learn more about the content, structure and conventions used in creation of SciFinder Scholar, and to increase the effectiveness of your searching.
Important for physical chemistry research. International in scope, giving access to physics-related literature of many types, including books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, etc., from 1898 on.
PubMed is the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) search tool biomedical literature. It includes bibliographic information from the MEDLINE database, as well as from additional life science journals. PubMed also provides access and links to NCBI's integrated suite of molecular biology databases.
If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button: or FindIt@BC. Find It will offer help including:
If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text.
If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.