CHEM6611: Scientific Communication in Chemistry

SciFinderⁿ (SciFinder-n) provides access to the complete Chemical Abstracts database, 1907 to present, along with selected literature from earlier years. This database covers the world's literature of chemistry and related fields, and indexes a variety of materials, including journal articles, books, patents, technical reports, conference papers, and electronic resources. Explore by literature reference information, chemical name, structure or substructure, or reaction, among other methods.

Note: SciFinderⁿ use is limited to Boston College students, faculty and staff, for educational purposes only. Create a personal account, using your Boston College email address, to access the database. You are encouraged to create a different password than your Agora credentials and to read the privacy policy for this site before using it.

Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database. Use it for author, subject and citation searching in a wide array of disciplines. Find H-Index information, compare journal impact data, and analyze publication and citation trends. Scopus provides comprehensive coverage of a large number of journals from 1996 - present, with added older content.

Web of Science is a large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching, It covers from 1900 to the present, and is global in scope.

Search Reaxys for organic, inorganic and organometallic chemical information by reaction, structure, property data, and text. Reaxys provides access to the content of the Beilstein Handbook (organic compounds 1771- ), Gmelin Handbook (inorganic and organometallic compounds 1817-1975) and the Patent Chemistry Database (organic and life sciences patents from 1976). The Beilstein and Gmelin Handbooks are essential, long-recognized sources of critically-evaluated data, augmented here with indexing of more current core journal literature in each area.

The Cambridge Structural Database is the world's primary repository for small molecule crystal structures, providing access to bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic data for organic, organometallic and metallic compounds. 3D structures have been determined using X-ray and neutron diffraction. The database records results of single crystal and powder diffractions studies. The web version (WebCSD) provides access to data; interactive functionality requires installation of the desktop client. For more information contact Nancy Curtis (nancy.curtis.2@bc.edu), Chemistry and Physics Librarian/Boston College Libraries.