Asian History

The Ming and Qing dynasties were the very period when ancient women paintings were developing at an unprecedented rate. The amount of women painters and that of their works as well as their artistic expression through painting languages all surpassed the performances of women painters in other dynasties.
Includes samples from diverse painters across the two dynasties.

The focus is on four seminal women's or gendered journals-a key genre of the new media-published between 1904 and 1937.
They include Nüzi shijie (Women's World, 1904-07), Funü shibao (The Women's Eastern Times, 1911-17), Funü zazhi (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31), and Linglong (Elegance, 1931-37).

Recent decades have witnessed strong interest in Chinese women's literature, history, and culture of the Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) periods among scholars, researchers, and students in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, North America, Europe, and elsewhere in the world. Chinese women's writings constitute a significant resource for ground-breaking research. They have opened up critical perspectives and enriched our knowledge of many aspects of Chinese culture and society. Close to 5000 collections of poetry and other writings by individual women are recorded for the Ming and Qing periods. However, less than a quarter of these materials have survived the ravages of history, and these have mostly ended up in rare book archives in libraries in China that are difficult to access.

Five digital collections from the Hoover Archives exploring photographs of China's 1911 revolution and beyond ; Photographs of the Seventh Day Adventist Church missionaries in China ; as well as China's natural landscapes, urban scenes, cultural landmarks, social customs, and people.

The OAC is a website that provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California -- including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Data & Statistics: Reconstructing the age-patterns of marriages, births, and deaths in Qing-dynasty China has depended in the past primarily on genealogies. Here we present a preliminary study of the lower Yangzi valley that demonstrates in action the technical methods needed to use a different sort of information for this purpose: the biographies of virtuous women in local gazetteers. The reader is invited to download our data files containing more than twenty thousand cases, to use or adapt our executable PERL programs, and to examine, improve on, or refute our reconstruction based on the consistent interlocking four main types of data and probabilistic computer models.

An index of art and crafts that were created by the Imperial Household Department (內務府造辦處) during Qianlong emperor's reign, which are held in the National Archive in Beijing. This database allows 1,608 items to be searched, by year, reign title, unit, volume number or keywords.

Interface in English.
"Full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. The University of Hong Kong Libraries, with a rich collection of Hong Kong journals, developed this database with the objectives of facilitating efficient information retrieval and preserving archival materials. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1872."

Interface in English or Chinese; content in English or Chinese.
The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research. Focuses on 19th and 20th centuries.
Open Access.

The Center for Research Library has digitized their holdings of this English language newspaper, published in Shanghai from the late 19th to the early 20th centuries.

Personal narratives written about the Qing Dynasty at Boston College. Researchers are encouraged to change out search terms for specific events.