MultivolumeOnlineSingle Volume
Citations & AbstractsCitations & Abstracts w. Selected Full textFull Text

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
About This Guide

The emphasis in this Guide is on Christian Theology, and more specifically on Catholic Theology, although a number of the works cited provide an ecumenical perspective.  The Guide is meant to help identify materials for basic and advanced research in theology.

 
 

 
Guides & Bibliographies

Gorman, G.E. and Gorman, Lyn. Theological & Religious Reference Materials: General Resources and Biblical Studies. 3 v. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984. (O'Neill Reference Z7770 .G66 1984)
V. 2 focuses on systematic/doctrinal theology and ethics. No particular denominational focus. Although dated, still valuable for standard sources.

McCabe, James Patrick. Critical Guide to Catholic Reference Books. 3rd ed. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1989. (O'Neill Reference Z674 .R4 no. 20)
Theology section: pp. 57-138. Sections include Apologetics, Dogmatic, Theology, Moral Theology, Pastoral Theology, Ascetical & Mystical Theology, Ecumenism, and Liturgy. Entries are annotated.

Starkey, Edward D. Judaism and Christianity: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1991. (O'Neill Reference BM45 .S78 1991)
Entries are annotated. In addition to the standard types of references (handbooks, atlases, dictionaries, etc.), it also lists core journals, research centers, institutes, scholarly and professional organizations, and library associations. Part 1 covers both traditions in general; Part 2 covers the bibles of Judaism and Christianity.

Stewart, David R.: The Literature of Theology : A Guide for Students and Pastors. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 2003. (O'Neill Reference BR118 .S73 2003)
This updated reference guide directs students to over 500 significant theological resources across a wide area of theological research. It details bibliographic sources for encyclopedias, dictionaries, and electronic resources in biblical studies, historical studies, theology, and practical theology.

Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion
.
An excellent web site presenting resources organized by subject (Archaeology & Classics, Biblical Studies, Christianity, Religion, World Religions) and resource type (e-texts, e-journals, syllabi, etc.).

 
 

Subject Librarian

Jonas Barciauskas

Contact Info:
O'Neill 406
617-552-4447
Email Me
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Classical Studies, German Studies, Philosophy, Theology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait