This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work: Health & Mental Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Social Work: Health & Mental Health   Tags: clinical_social_work, health, mental_health, social_work  

This guide was designed to help you get started with research related to health and mental health. The guide includes general reference books, web sites, and recommended journal databases.
Last Updated: May 16, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlclinical Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide was designed to assist you with helpful steps for research related to mental health and health topics. You will find background information, tips for finding books, sources of journal articles, and recommended web sties.

Counseling & Therapy in Video

This new databases features a video clips on a variety of counseling techniques and situations.

 

Featured New Titles on Health & Mental Health

 

Getting Started

Look for basic background information:

  • If you are just getting started with your research, and you want to get a general sense of a topic, look through the handbooks, encyclopedias, and websites featured on background information and facts.

 We recommend searching for books when you want to find a broad overview of a topic.

  • Books and book chapters are excellent sources of historical overview on a topic.
  • You can also find several view points on a topic in one collected volume.

 Search for journal articles when:

  • you have an especially narrow or specific topic in mind
  • you want to find source of peer-reviewed publications
  • You need the most current information

 Remember to take advantage of treatment planners, practice guidelines, and information from the DSM IV.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kate Silfen
Contact Info
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip