Séamus Connolly Papers at the John J. Burns Library, Boston College
Extent: 39.0 linear feet (97 boxes)
Abstract: This collection documents the musical activities and career of Irish traditional fiddle player Séamus Connolly. The collection includes field recordings, correspondence, press clippings, publications, photographs, awards, and artifacts. It also includes research notes and materials collected by Connolly on Irish traditional music.
Accession number: IMC.M064
Guides to the Seamus Connolly papers
About Séamus Connolly, Sullivan Artist in Residence
Séamus Connolly is a faculty member in the Center for Irish Programs, where he has been directing Irish traditional music, song, and dance programming for Boston College since 1990.
This guide presents information about the Séamus Connolly papers at the John J. Burns Library, as well as links to related online media content featuring Séamus Connolly.
National Heritage Fellowship Recipient, 2013
In September 2013, the National Endowment for the Arts awarded Séamus Connolly a National Heritage Fellowship, the nation's highest honor in the folk and traditional arts. The second page of this guide includes media coverage of the 2013 National Heritage Fellowship award.
Video From YouTube: Séamus Connolly is interviewed by "American Routes" radio host Nick Spitzer, and performs both solo and accompanied by Zan McLeod (guitar), Billy McComiskey (accordion), Jimmy Noonan (flute), and Kevin Doyle (tradtional Irish dance.) The segment featuring Séamus begins at the 1:27:10 mark of the video. Lisner Auditorium, George Washington University, Washington D.C., September 27, 2013.
Séamus Connolly: 2013 Ellis Island Medal of Honor Recipient
Video From YouTube: May 11, 2013, Séamus Connolly performs "The Shores of America" and "First Night in America" (9:26 mark of the video) at the award ceremony for the 2013 Ellis Island Medal of Honor recipients. Séamus received this award from the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) in recognition of his distinguished career as one of the world's most respected master Irish musicians.
Music Makers video from folkstreams.net
A 1991 documentary video, The Music Makers: Seamus Connolly and Friends, provides background information about Connolly and his music.
Wall Street Journal article, March 10 2011
Presentations by Séamus Connolly
The Sullivan Artist-in-Residence chair is endowed by G. Craig '64 and Maureen Sullivan.
Interviews with Séamus Connolly
Audio Clips from the Séamus Connolly Papers
Listen to brief audio clips from series II, subseries A: Digitized audio from sound tape reel compilations
Concert Video of Séamus Connolly
Video From YouTube: Séamus Connolly performs at the Northeast Heritage Music Camp on the campus of Johnson State College in Johnson, Vermont, June 21, 2008.
Concert Video of Séamus Connolly, John McGann, and Dan Gurney
Video From YouTube: Gaelic Roots Series: Sept. 22, 2011, "The Genius and Growing Impact of Joe Derrane." Old Copperplate / Hunter's House (Ed Reavy) / Golden Keyboard (Martin Mulhaire) - performed by Séamus Connolly (fiddle); Dan Gurney (accordion); John McGann (mandolin).
About the John J. Burns Library
The John J. Burns Library of Rare Books and Special Collections is a non-circulating library. To learn more about the collections and how to access them, contact the Burns Library staff at 617-552-4861 or email@example.com.
In spring 2013, the Burns Library created an exhibit from the Seamus Connolly Papers, titled The Musical Roots of Seamus Connolly, Sullivan Artist-in-Residence.