Extent: 42.5 linear feet (102 boxes)
Abstract: This collection documents the musical activities and career of Irish traditional fiddle player Séamus Connolly. The collection includes field recordings, correspondence, press clippings, publications, photographs, awards, and artifacts. It also includes research notes and materials collected by Connolly on Irish traditional music.
Collection number: IM.M064.1999
Séamus Connolly retired in 2015 from his faculty position in the Center for Irish Programs, where he had been directing Irish traditional music, song, and dance programming for Boston College since 1990.
This guide presents information about the Séamus Connolly papers at the John J. Burns Library, with links to related online media content.
The Séamus Connolly papers are an archival collection that is distinct from the digital collection, The Séamus Connolly Collection of Irish Music.
In September 2013, the National Endowment for the Arts awarded Séamus Connolly a National Heritage Fellowship, the nation's highest honor in the folk and traditional arts.
Video From YouTube: Séamus Connolly is interviewed by "American Routes" radio host Nick Spitzer, and performs both solo and accompanied by Zan McLeod (guitar), Billy McComiskey (accordion), Jimmy Noonan (flute), and Kevin Doyle (tradtional Irish dance.) The segment featuring Séamus begins at the 1:27:10 mark of the video. Lisner Auditorium, George Washington University, Washington D.C., September 27, 2013.
Video From YouTube: May 11, 2013, Séamus Connolly performs "The Shores of America" and "First Night in America" (9:26 mark of the video) at the award ceremony for the 2013 Ellis Island Medal of Honor recipients. Connolly received this award from the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) in recognition of a distinguished career as one of the world's most respected master Irish musicians.
The Sullivan Artist-in-Residence chair was endowed by G. Craig Sullivan '64 and Maureen Sullivan.
Video From YouTube: Séamus Connolly performs at the Northeast Heritage Music Camp on the campus of Johnson State College in Johnson, Vermont, June 21, 2008.
Video From YouTube: Gaelic Roots Series: Sept. 22, 2011, "The Genius and Growing Impact of Joe Derrane." Old Copperplate / Hunter's House (Ed Reavy) / Golden Keyboard (Martin Mulhaire) - performed by Séamus Connolly (fiddle); Dan Gurney (accordion); John McGann (mandolin).
To learn more about the collections and services of the John J. Burns Library of Rare Books and Special Collections please contact the Burns Library staff at 617-552-4861 or submit a question.
In spring 2013, the Burns Library created an exhibit from the Seamus Connolly Papers, titled The Musical Roots of Seamus Connolly, Sullivan Artist-in-Residence.