Dictionaries
- The IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology ("The Gold Book")
Definitions and extensive concept mapping and cross-linking for commonly used terms, compounds, reactions. This is a great starting point. IUPAC, the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, is the global authority on chemical nomenclature. - Dictionary of Chemistry, 6th ed., Oxford Reference Online (BC Community Only)
Edited by John Daintith, this is a very good, standard dictionary. - Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 13th ed. Lewis, R.J., Sr. Ed. Van Nostrand Reinhold: New York, NY, 1997. (O'Neill Reference QD5 .C5 1997)
Terms and common chemicals (often, with a few key properties listed). The definitions are succinct, but not too succinct. - Chemically Speaking: a dictionary of quotations. Gaither, C. G. and Cavazos-Gaither. Institute of Physics: Bristol ; Philadelphia, PA, 2002. ( O'Neill Reference QD 5.C457 2002)
Quotations about chemistry by chemists and famous non-chemists.
General Science Encyclopedias
See below for encyclopedias focused on chemistry.
- AccessScience (BC Community Only)

Great basic scientific encyclopedia. Generous cross-linking between related (narrower and broader) concepts. Encyclopedic articles are frequently updated (and noted, as such). Biographies for more than 2000 influential scientists. - Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology. Academic Press: Orlando, FL, 1987. (16 vols.) (O'Neill Reference Q 123.E497 1987)
A good general science encyclopedia with lengthy, in-depth articles. Articles contain glossaries, classified sub-sections and extensive bibliographies. - Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed. (27 vols.); J. Wiley: Hoboken, NJ, 2004- (O'Neill Reference TP 9.K54 2004)

Wide-ranging background information on research and industrial aspects of topics interesting to chemists and non-chemists, alike. Listed with general science encyclopedias because of its breadth of coverage.
Chemical Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry. J. Wiley & Sons: Chichester, England; New York, NY, 1994. (8 vols.) (O'Neill Reference QD 148.E53 1994)
Although arranged and named as an encyclopedia, its depth is almost treatise-like, with lengthy articles and extensive reference lists. - e-EROS (BC Community Only)
Electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. Search by reagent name, structure, and/or keywords to find primary data values, brief preparative methods, reactions in which used and key references. - Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry. Academic Press: San Diego, CA, 2000. (3 vols.) (O'Neill Reference QD 95 .E55 2000)
Great breadth of topics. Signed articles with lengthy discussions and key references. - MacMillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry. MacMillan Reference USA: New York, NY, 1997. (4 vols.) (O'Neill Reference QD 4 .M33 1997)
Alphabetical access to articles and key references on elements, chemical groups, concepts, phenomena, chemical laws, biographies of important chemists, etc. - Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. VCH: Weinheim, Federal Republic of Germany; Deerfield Beach, FL, 1985. (43 vols.) (O'Neill Reference TP 9.U57 1985)
A important, standard work. "A" Volumes (28) are arranged alphabetically and provide information on chemicals, product groups, applications, processes and concepts. The "B" Volumes provide in-depth information on major topics.
Subject Guide |
Sally WymanContact Info:
O'Neill Library, Room 408
Boston College Libraries
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-4452
Send Email
O'Neill Library, Room 408
Boston College Libraries
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-4452
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait