This is the "Home" page of the "Literary Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
This guide is intended to assist students who are conducting research on literature in English.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/litresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

You've chosen a topic and established a realistic time-table; it's now time to begin searching for background information. There's no one optimal way to commence the research process. Much depends on one's acquaintance of the library and its resources, on one's work habits, and, of course, on one's knowledge of the topic being researched.

 

 

First Steps

If one is beginning to research a topic about which one knows relatively little, the database Literature Resource Center might be particularly useful. Literature Resource Center provides up-to-date criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. It includes the following databases:

  • Contemporary Authors
    A bio-bibliographical guide to more than 120,000 current U.S. and international authors in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, and other fields.

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
    An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study.

In addition to almost 300,000 full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, Literature Resource Center provides full-text access to Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and points to over 5,000 evaluated author-related Web sites.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brendan Rapple
Contact Info
Room 414A
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, English
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip