Nursing

Nursing Research

Essential resources to begin your research in Nursing are included in this Research Guide.

Subject Databases to Nursing/Health Sciences Literature

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the database equivalent to Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It provides comprehensive, in depth coverage of the literature in the field of nursing. CINAHL provides access to virtually all English language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from 13 allied health disciplines. Records include citations, and abstracts.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a full-text evidence-based medicine database which reviews and synthesizes the best research on the effects of health care. The database includes: "The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews", "Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness", "The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register", "The Cochrane Review Methodology Database", "The Cochrane Methodology Register," "Health Technology Assessment Database," and "NHS Economic Evaluation Database."
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline features DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.

EMBASE.com
EMBASE is a comprehensive and international bibliographic database renowned for its extensive coverage of the drug and biomedical literature.
more...less...
Coverage includes: Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
EMBASE Tutorials & Product Guides

AgeLine This link opens in a new window
AgeLine indexes literature on aging including topics such as government sponsored programs for elders, healthcare costs and policy, elder care, financial and retirement planning as well as health and fitness.

Alt-Health Watch
Focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt-HealthWatch provides information on both the professional and consumer level on more than two hundred therapies, modalities and perspectives.
more...less...
The database covers over 120 international periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters. It has material dating back to 1990 and is updated quarterly. Click on the Publication Name on the search page to browse a list of sources covered by the database.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Contains information on questionnaires, tests, rating scales and other measurements in nursing and the health and behavioral sciences.

SPORTDiscus (SPORT Discus) This link opens in a new window
This international database covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.

Sigma Theta Tau-Virginia Henderson Library
Contains biographical data about nurse researchers, their research programs and studies, and results of their studies. It is constructed from data contributed by the Nurse Researchers themselves, including abstracts and information about related studies.
more...less...
The Nursing Knowledge Registry is maintained by Sigma Theta Tau international, the international Honor Society of Nursing.

Related Databases

BIOSIS Previews
Previews covers the entire field of biological science including original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, field, laboratory, experimental and theoretical works.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index & Social Science Citation Index -allows one to perform cited reference searching as well as searching by subject and author.
PsycINFO 1840-current This link opens in a new window
The database provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The online resource includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Yearbooks. ##The database covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor.

Sociological Abstracts
Contains information from approximately 2000 journals in 30 different languages which includes bibliographic citations and abstracts (from Sociological Abstracts and SOPODA) and enhanced dissertation citations (from Dissertation Abstracts International).
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., the database contains more than 35,000 records on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organizations, and more.

Indexes in Print

Click on the titles for location of these print indexes.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Indexes most English language journals in nursing back to 1956. Five percent of coverage is of allied health topics. Includes a Thesaurus which is updated annually.
Nursing Studies Index 1900-1959
This index covers the nursing literature prior to coverage provided in CINAHL
Index to the History of Nursing
This is an index to microfiche collections at Columbia University. These collections are a source of international materials on nursing from the seventeenth century through 1980.
Excerpta Medica
Selected sections of the Excerpta Medica series of indexes include physiology, endocrinology, neurology, psychiatry, public health, social medicine, epidemiology, rehabilitation, physical medicine, obstetrics/gynecology, gerontology/geriatrics, and others
International Nursing Index

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Nursing

Nursing Research

Subject Databases to Nursing/Health Sciences Literature

Related Databases

Indexes in Print