Biblical Exegesis

One excellent way to stay informed about current trends in biblical studies is to regularly peruse respected journals in the field. The following are all peer-reviewed, (at least partially) available online, and are representative of truly fine contemporary scholarship.  Most are entirely in English, with a few also containing articles in other languages.  To browse individual volumes/issues, simply click on the journal's title.

• Biblica  (this journal must be accessed on campus; issues published prior to five years ago can be accessed off campus through the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS)
• Biblical Interpretation
• Biblical Theology Bulletin
• Catholic Biblical Quarterly
• Interpretation
• Journal for the Study of the New Testament
• Journal for the Study of the Old Testament
• Journal of Ancient Judaism
• Journal of Biblical Literature
• Journal of Early Christian Studies
• New Testament Studies
• Novum Testamentum
• Revue Biblique (this journal must be accessed on campus; issues published prior to five years ago can be accessed off campus through the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS)
• Vetus Testamentum
• Zeitschrift für die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft
• Zeitschrift für die neutestamentliche Wissenschaft

These and many other such publications are available to you - in paper or electronic form - via TML and the Boston College Libraries.

To search for journal articles by keyword, subject, title, etc., requires using one or more subject databases.  These are among the most relevant databases for research in biblical studies.

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:  or FindIt@BC.  Find It will offer help including:

1. If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text. 
2. If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
3. If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.