Find Statistics for the Social Sciences by Topic

Health

This guide provides quick links, primarily to tables, in the social sciences. It is organized by major topics and highlights statistics for some of the most frequently requested areas.

Health Care- U.S.

National Center for Health Statistics. CDC
Includes FastStats by topic
Fatal Injury Reports, National, Regional and State, 1981 – 2016
State Health Facts Kaiser Foundation
Children's Health Kaiser Foundation
Demographics, Health Status Indicators, Pediatric & Prenatal Care, Health Insurance, Medicaid, HIV/AIDS. Data by state.
Reproductive Health Data and Statistics. CDC
Abortion, Hysterectomy, Infant Health. Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health, International Reproductive Health Surveys, Maternal Health, Tobacco Use and Pregnancy, Unintended and Teen Pregnancy Prevention, Women's Reproductive Health
Health Statistics Research Guide
Health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies. Use Browser back key to return to this guide.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. More than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.

Pan American Health Organization.

Other Sources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and more.
State Stats This link opens in a new window
State Stats is now part of Sage Data. Provides data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years at the state level. Topics include health care, crime, education, employment, energy, government finances, social welfare, transportation and more. Mapping and graphing tools to compare with other data sets, or export to Excel.

Drugs/Tobacco

Health Care- International

World Health Organization
World Databank. World Bank
Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor and Millenium Development Goals.
Health: Key Tables from OECD
Detailed health data for OECD countries with charts.
DHS Statcompiler
DHS STATcompiler is an online database tool that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables that serve their specific data needs. It accesses nearly all of the DHS population and health indicators.
Childinfo. UNICEF
Child Survival and Health, Child Nutrition, Maternal Health, Water and Sanitation, Education, Child Protection, HIV/AIDS, MDG (Millennium Development Goals) Monitoring. Data by Country.
more...less...
Specific topics such as breastfeeding, birthweight, vitamin deficiency, mortality, school enrollment, child labor, mutilation and domestic violence attitudes.
HIV/AIDS Survey Indicators Database.STATcompiler
Main sources of HIV/AIDS indicators in the database are the Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS), Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), Reproductive Health Surveys (RHS), the Sexual Behavior Surveys (SBS), and Behavioral Surveillance Surveys (BSS)
more...less...
Data Restrictions
* Survey data files are distributed by MEASURE DHS for legitimate academic research. Researchers need to provide to MEASURE DHS an abstract or a detailed description of any research that will be using the data before data are made available to them.
* Once received, the datasets must not be passed on to other researchers without the written consent of MEASURE DHS.
* Sufficient number of copies of publications, reports or papers based on the requested data must be sent to the DHS Data Archive, so that they can be sent to the specific countries whose data have been used.
International Narcotics Control Board
Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.
Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. World Bank.
Draws on a variety of data sources including administrative statistics and household surveys compiled by the World Bank Group and its client countries, World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) etc. Include mortality, immunization, malnutrion etc.
International Agency for Research on Cancer

Government Sources

State of Mental Health in America
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey in SPSS, Stata and SAS formats.
Earlier years in catalog Use keyword "meps" and select material type "data
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
Tracks health risks in the United States over ten years, national and state data and includes mapping tool and GIS formatted data for download.
500 Cities: Local Data for Better Health
The purpose of the 500 Cities Project is to provide city- and census tract-level small area estimates for chronic disease risk factors, health outcomes, and clinical preventive service use for the largest 500 cities in the United States. These small area estimates will allow cities and local health departments to better understand the burden and geographic distribution of health-related variables in their jurisdictions, and assist them in planning public health interventions. Data can be extracted and used with GIS software
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics.
Current news, trends and national and state data on substance abuse.
College Drinking (NIAAA)
Statistics on deaths and injuries caused by college drinking from the NIAAA.
Health, United States
Chartbook from the NCHS indicating Trends in the Health of Americans. This resource includes over 140 trend tables including topics such as fertility, natality and mortality. Includes Mental Health Expenditures and other data.
International Narcotics Control Board
Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.
SAMHSA's National Survey on Drug Use & Health
Sponsored by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration, an Agency of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (CDC)
Survey data starting in 1991 based on high school questionnaire about health behavior.
Mental Health United States (NHIMH)
Biennial report from 2004. Links to tables and figures through the report. Data includes statistics such as: major national and state trends, state mental health agency controlled expenditures and revenues for mental health.
The State of Aging and Health in America Report
Assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health, strategies to improve the health and quality of life of older adults, and state examples that highlight innovative healthy aging efforts at the state and community level.
more...less...
Health Status and Health Behavior.
Data.Medicare

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Find Statistics for the Social Sciences by Topic

Health

Health Care- U.S.

Other Sources

Drugs/Tobacco

Health Care- International

Government Sources