Find Statistics for the Social Sciences by Topic

Country overviews including basic economics data and sources.

Yearly data of Total and Economically active population, Employment, Unemployment, Hours of Work, Wages, Labour Cost, Consumer Price Indices, Occupational Injuries, Strikes and Lockouts: 1969-2005.

OECD countries. Select Health, then Health Statistics then select health care activities. Percent of population 65 and over.

Variables include breakdown of education statistics for older population at 4 year increments and 75+.

Statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface, aggregating over 610 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 55 sources, making 16 billion data points accessible within a single interface. Includes IMF data. Note:Java v. 6 or higher recommended. Quick Start Guide

The Healthy Aging Data Portal provides easy access to CDC data on a range of key indicators of health and well-being, screenings and vaccinations, and mental health among older adults at the national and state levels.

Assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health, strategies to improve the health and quality of life of older adults, and state examples that highlight innovative healthy aging efforts at the state and community level.

Activities, Health Care Expenditures, Use of Health Care Services, Sources of Health Insurance, Educational Attainment, Racial and Ethnic Composition, Living Arrangements, Participation in the Labor Force, Chronic Health Conditions and more.

Provides current data on six key indicators related to the mental health of adults aged 50 years or older from CDC’s Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS). Additional information is provided on the topic of depression, an important and emerging public health issue. Includes: Social and Emotional Support, Life Satisfaction, Frequent Mental Distress, Current Depression, Lifetime Diagnosis of Depression, Lifetime Diagnosis of Anxiety Disorder.

Statistics include self-rated health, mean physically unhealthy days, mean mentally unhealthy days, and activity limitation days. Data by age, gender, race, national and state level.
Data from BRFSS.

WISQARS is the Injury Center's interactive, online database that provides customized injury-related mortality data and nonfatal injury data with age filter.

Provides links to statistical tables from local, national and international government sources. Use keywords such as aging, elderly, welfare, social security etc. Limit by year or full text options

NACDA, located within ICPSR, acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use. Data generally in SPSS and other statistical formats.