This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies.
This guide highlights some of the most frequently requested health data available. The guide also includes some health related web mapping sites.
Places to start:
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (BC Community Only)
Extensive archive of research data from academic and commercial sources. Includes health surveys, medical expenditure surveys and opinion polls.
- Statistical Abstract of the U. S. Historical Statistics. (BC Community Only)
Standard source for U.S. statistics with tables of statistics from federal and international agencies. Section 3 covers health and nutrition. Online data available from 1995 edition forward. Print and microfiche back to 1878.
Statistical Data Catalog.
Access to numeric data sources available at Boston College faculty and students. Includes abastracts and direct links to data and guidebooks. Select material type data and type in keyword.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (BC Community Only)
Covers international, federal and state data sources in addition to private sources.
Addtional Statistical Sources:
There are many more sources available, if you do not find what you need please contact Barbara Mento.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface, aggregating over 610 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 55 sources, making 16 billion data points accessible within a single interface. Includes IMF data. Recommend IE browser.
Health data is collected by U.S. and international agencies and is often available for free.
- Massachusetts Community Health Information Profile (MassCHIP)
Dynamic, user-friendly information service that provides free, online access to these and many other health and social indicators. Includes community-level data to assess health needs, monitor health status indicators, and evaluate health programs.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. U.S. CDC
An alphabetical subject list provides links to health issues by topics such as diseases, aging, substance abuse and health issues such as airbags and air pollution.
More than seventy agencies in the United States Federal Government contribute to these statistics organized by topic.Topics range from vital statistics, diseases, medical expenditures and health insurance coverage.
- Health, United States NCHS
Chartbook from the NCHS indicating Trends in the Health of Americans. This resource includes over 140 trend tables including topics such as fertility, natality and mortality.
- Millenium Indicators Database U.N. Statistics Division.
Forty-eight social and economic indicators for 197 countries annually, 1985-2000 immunizations, AIDS, education, illiteracy, mortality, malnutrition.
- OECD Health Data
Detailed health data with charts.
- National Center for Health Statistics-Fastats A-Z
State level data from NCHS including birth and death rates, data from BRFSS and state health agencies.
International compilation of data from key government and agency sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Data: Crime; Disasters; Education; Environment; Health; Immigration; Lifestyle and Mortality.
State Level data.
- Regional Core Health Data Table Generator System
108 essential health indicators to quantitatively characterize the health situation of 48 countries and territories of the Region of the Americas for the period 1995-2005. Table Generator System allow construction tables of indicators/countries.
- WHOSIS- World Health Organization
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information from WHO. World Health Organization site also lists health related websites organized by country.
- Area resource file (ARF) system: information for health resources planning and research.
O'Neill Media Center Stacks RA409.5 .A74
County-based data files compiled from 50 different sources, including the NCHS, AMA and AHA. Data elements: county codes; health professions data; health facility and health training data, population. 2001, 2003
- Undata (United Nations)
Search multiple U.N. data databases for health and social indicators.
- Global Health Facts- Kaiser Foundation
Statistics by country and category
- State Health Facts-Kaiser Foundation
- Health Resources County Comparison Tool. Health Resources and Services Administration.
Database of thousands of statistics on a wide range of topics, including media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, health care and more. Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.