Mediterranean History

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

Interface in English and French (and other major, European languages). Majority of the content in French.
France's fantastic digital library from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Digitized periodicals, images, recordings, and more. Covers two millenia with particular strength from 1500 to the present.
Open Access.

Interface in English. Content in English or other languages.
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more. Strongest between the 17th and 21st centuries. Content dating back to B.C.E.
Open Access.

Located in Harlem, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is one of the most widely used research facilities in the world devoted to preserving materials on the history and culture of peoples of African descent. Provides much useful information pertaining to African-American authors and literature.

Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 5.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

The text of multiple treatise, state, and international records related to the Middle East.

Includes constitutional and other related documents (e.g., treaties) for contemporary states across the Middle East and North Africa from the 19th century to the present.

A collection of official gazettes and other key historical government documentation from countries where the integrity of the public record is known to be at risk. Collection includes material from Libya, Morocco, Algeria, Iraq, Mozambique, Somalia, Rhodesia and Nyasaland, Sudan, Southern Rhodesia, Congo, Nigeria, Iran, British Somaliland, and Zimbabwe.

"Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags." Collection divided by country, with dozens of image per state.
Open Access.

"Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photograph…"
Open Access.

The Alexandria Bombardment of 1882 Photograph Album digital collection was originally compiled by Italian photographer Luigi Fiorillo. This unique resource documents the British naval attack on 'Urabi Pasha's nationalists, who revolted against Taufik Pasha, the Khedive of Egypt, from 1879 to 1882. Fiorillo’s fifty page album records damage to Alexandria's neighborhoods, particularly the harbor and the fortress district.

Includes multiple collections of photographs, postcards, newspapers, oral histories, architectural blueprints, as well as books. Focused on 19th and 20th century history from Napoleon through the 21st Century Revolution.

Reports and news on Human Rights in Egypt since the 1990s.

This collection is a rich source of historical images of the Middle East. The majority of the images depict Palestine (present day Israel and the West Bank) from 1898 to 1946. Most of the collection consists of over 22,000 glass and film photographic negatives and transparencies.

"This project contains a huge number of digitized documents, images, and other media depicting the Suez Canal and donated by the Association of the Friends of Ferdinand de Lesseps, the BA, and the Suez Canal Authority. The collection documents the history of the Canal since its inauguration."
Open Access.

Collection aims to digitize, translate, and post online printed discourse collected during and after popular demonstrations of the 2011 Egyptian Revolution. The collection contains over 500 items Arabic language, including poetry, personal essays, advertisements, missives, political party communications, protest flyers, and activist newspapers.

It is a digital repository documenting the last 200 years of Egypt’s modern history through tens of thousands of varying items, such as documents, pictures, audios, videos, maps, articles, stamps, coins, etc. that created an index of 14 different material types.

U.S. State Department Records on the internal affairs of Morocco

Reports and news on Human Rights in Morocco/Western Sahara since the 1990s.