Mediterranean History

1941-1996. Transcribed and translated foreign broadcasts and news. The original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Now offers the opportunity for students to expand their research into primary sources that originated in languages they do not have.

Thousands of U.S. and international news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information.
Primarily 1990-present

Full text news (1995-2013) compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources translated into English, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is by region and includes: East Asia, Near East and South Asia, China, East Europe, West Europe, Latin America and Sub-Saharan Africa.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

This collection, sourced from the National Archives, UK, provides an expansive view of key events and their global political impact through access to files and documents of the Foreign and Commonwealth Offices. It covers the Iran-Iraq War and Arab-Israeli conflicts, Cold War politics, relationships with superpowers, the impact of oil wealth, and civil conflicts in Lebanon, Iran, Cyprus and Yemen.

Declassified documents on the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century

U.S. intelligence communitys spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Irans nuclear program.