The First-Year Writing Seminars (FWS) Library Instruction is a crucial element of the BC Libraries instruction program. We aim to provide in-class library instruction for every section of FWS, and we have a team of instruction librarians dedicated to this task. Where possible, we like to meet with FWS faculty in advance of the instruction session to discuss what will be covered, and develop custom instruction sessions that directly address course assignments. You can see our extensive FWS guide for more information, or contact one of our FWS instructors to get started. We work closely with the FWS program to ensure students develop core library skills early on in their time at BC which are informed by the Boston College Libraries FWS Goals and Objectives.
FWS instructors are welcome to add a Burns Library instruction session to their course in addition to their O’Neill session. A Burns Library session uses active learning techniques to introduce FWS students to special collections and archives, allowing them to develop skills in both primary and secondary sources that they will build on throughout their academic career.
FWS Burns Library Instruction can take place in person or online via an asynchronous Canvas module. Our Menu of Options outlines the different instruction sessions and delivery modalities available for FWS classes. Our goal is to ensure that sessions meet instructor needs and class goals, and we are happy to talk more about logistics, materials, and more. FWS instructors interested in a Burns Library instruction session can indicate interest when signing up for their O’Neill Library Session and are encouraged to reach out to Associate Instruction Services Librarian Sarah Rebecca Gaglio at gaglios@bc.edu with any questions.
Boston College Libraries has a librarian assigned to schools, departments, and programs. They provide instruction overviews of discipline-specific collections and research practices, working in conjunction with faculty requests. This instruction can be anything from having a librarian come into one class, providing research guides, meeting with students, assisting at workshop days, or providing instruction on specific databases or tools.
Please email your subject librarian directly for more information about subject-specific library instruction.
Our Digital Scholarship Group works in conjunction with subject liaisons in meeting the needs of faculty and students who are engaged in digital scholarship-based research. We can create custom workshops, classroom instruction, and partner on assignments, student projects, and course design.
The Digital Scholarship Group’s expertise spans a number of methodologies and skills, including data finding, data visualization, text analysis, network analysis, text encoding, GIS/mapping, 3D modeling, and more. We can create custom workshops, classroom instruction, and partner on assignments, student projects, and course design. For more information about the Digital Scholarship Group, visit ds.bc.edu. To request class instruction or assistance with curriculum design, please complete our Class Instruction Request form.
Through collaboration with faculty and other community members, the Burns Library Instruction program supports intellectual inquiry and scholarship through an active engagement with primary and historical resources, in both original and digital formats. We emphasize active learning techniques that center the student in goal oriented sessions in order to hone the skills needed to find, evaluate, interpret, and use primary source and historical information as well as to enable academic growth.
We are happy to encourage wider use of Burns Library’s unique materials for teaching and research among students of all levels and across all disciplines. We work enthusiastically and creatively with faculty to develop customized classes, activities, assignments, and Out of Class Experiences (OCEs) around syllabus topics, course objectives, and primary source literacy standards. There is no singular, “right” way to bring special collections into the classroom experience, and we are open to all disciplines and many different approaches.
We work to demystify special collections and demonstrate that not only are these unique materials accessible to all, but that they can be incorporated into classwork in a variety of ways. We teach research skills, not subjects, so don’t assume that we or our collections cannot help your classes, both in person and online!
Find out more about active learning instruction sessions with primary sources and historical materials and request sessions with Burns Library special collections.
First-Year Writing Seminar sessions can also be held at Burns, see above section on FWS for more information.
