Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Irish History

:

Irish Revolutionary and Free State Period (1910s to1930s)

This is an introductory guide to resources available to students at Boston College on Irish History.

Test

This timeline highlights a couple major events in Irish history between 1910 and 1930. Underneath the dates, you can see what collections are in Burns Library at Boston College. You can also find information on access to Open Access and other digital collections available at BC.

Eventually, you'll be able to click the image for more information about the collections. 

What's on This Page

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

    Burns Box

     

    In our very own special collections library (Burns), you'll find an impressive array of material on Irish History. It's one of BC's areas of focus. If you're studying the topic it's well worth the trip to hold that history in your hands.

    To do so, you should start by searching for material through BC Libraries' catalog and then ordering it (if you haven't registered, you'll be prompted). For a guide on the process, check out the "Finding Burns Material" page. 

    In addition to manuscript collections, Burns Library has many Irish printed materials from this time period. Some suggested search terms are below, which are filtered to only find material printed before 1930.

    For more Burns resources on specific topics, check the Burns Blog for posts on The 1916 Easter Rising and our series of Irish Women Rising posts about female activists during the Revolutionary period.

    Broad Digital Collections

    These are collections with extensive content, covering dozens of topics related Irish history. We recommend trying each of these to see if they are relevant to your research.

    Digital Collections about/from Ireland

    Sources: Gov. Docs. and the Law

    For other Legal History Resources for British History, visit BC Libraries' British History Research Guide.

    Sources: Literature

    To access recommendations on Irish literature, visit BC Libraries' Irish Studies page.

    Sources: Media

    Sources: Maps

    To access additional Irish map collections and digital projects, visit BC Libraries' Irish Maps page.

    Sources: Newspapers

    Broad Coverage

    Individual Title(s)

    For more historical news, visit BC Libraries' Irish Historical News resource guide.

    Sources: Personal Papers (Letters, Diaries, and More)

    First World War in Primary Sources

    The following are collections and online exhibits specifically focussed on the First World War (1914-1918) and Irish involvement. You should also take a look at the Broad Digital Collections listed at the top of this page. 

    Digitized Resources

    In Print at BC

    For additional help

    For additional recommendations, contact your subject liaison (Dr. Bee Lehman) at brittany.lehman@bc.edu or schedule an appointment with them.